LibGuides: Urban & Environmental Policy and Planning (General): Data Sources

Data

American Housing Survey
The American Housing Survey (AHS) collects data on the Nation's housing, including apartments, single-family homes, mobile homes, vacant housing units, household characteristics, income, housing and neighborhood quality, housing costs, equipment and fuels.
Center for Economic Studies (CES)
CES conducts research in economics and other social sciences, and creates new public-use data from existing data.

Data Planet
Data Planet provides access to several thousand different national and international standardized datasets; the data can be displayed in charts, graphs, maps, and tables, as well as exported for further manipulation. Datasets cover a wide range of subjects including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations. The data now includes U.S. Political Stats.

Demographic yearbook
Provides worldwide statistics on population, birth, mortality, marriage, and divorce.
National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS)
The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides population, housing, agricultural, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files, for geographic units in the United States from 1790 to the present.

Policy Map
An easy-to-use web-based Geographic Information System (GIS), use Policy Map to create maps of the United States down to the Census block group in many cases. Available data includes demographics, home sale statistics, health data, mortgage trends, school performance scores and labor data like unemployment, crime statistics and city crime rates.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. The online version includes monthly updates to tables, deep searching at the line-item level, powerful facets for narrowing search results, image and spreadsheet versions of all current and historical tables, along with links to provider sites.
Social Explorer
Social Explorer provides quick and easy access to modern and historical U.S. census data and demographic information. The web interface lets users create maps and reports to help visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history. The site currently includes data from the entire US Census from 1790 to 2010, all annual updates from the American Community Survey to 2008, original Census tract-level estimates for 2006 and 2007, the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2000, and 2002 Carbon Emissions Data from the Vulcan Project.

National Equity Atlas
The Atlas provides data on demographic change, racial inclusion, and the economic benefits of equity for the 100 largest cities, 150 largest regions, all 50 states, and the United States.
State of the Cities Data Systems (SOCDS)
The SOCDS provides data for individual Metropolitan Areas, Central Cities, and Suburbs.
U.S. Census Data for Social, Economic, and Health Research (IPUMS)
IPUMS USA collects, preserves and harmonizes U.S. census microdata and provides easy access to this data with enhanced documentation. Data includes decennial censuses from 1790 to 2010 and American Community Surveys (ACS) from 2000 to the present.
U.S. Housing Market Conditions
The USHMC website contains all the national, regional, state, metropolitan, and local data and analysis in one location. You may search by geography to obtain all the reports available for a particular area.

Social Science Data
A guide to social science data sources organized by topic and geography.