Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Pre-1945 Policies & Plans
Identify a location, municipality & topic for your policy or plan. Identify the different governments that could be involved: town, city, county, state, federal. Start by searching each government's website - many municipalities have digitized archives and historic documents. If that does not work, use secondary sources (histories, encyclopedias) to identify several policies/plans by name, and search for them. The sources below are excellent sources for digitized municipal government documents. Feel free to reach out to Ari at any point!
State Government Information
Repository of over 10 million digitized volumes. Public domain content is full-text; non-public domain content (post-1923) is for full-text searching only. Login with Tufts username and password.
50 State Agency Databases
The Government Documents Round Table maintains a list of agency databases for all 50 states and the District of Columbia on its wiki. The databases contain useful information on businesses, licensed professionals, plots of land, and even dates of fish stocking.
Open States: Legislative Data Across All 50 States
From the Sunlight Foundation. Using the site is simple: enter a U.S. address or select a state to start to research bills, review voting records, contact elected officials and more. All states on one site.
State Cases and Codes via FindLaw
Easy links to State statues, administrative code, bills, etc.
State Government- GovSpot.com
General Resources includes links to the official state government website, major state newspapers, and quick facts; the other categories are the branches of government; departments and agencies; elections; law; licenses, permits and records; taxes; and travel and recreation.
State and Local Government on the Net
A directory of official state, county, and city government websites.
State Court Web Sites
From the National Center for State Courts
Click on Search By Content Type above the search box to access state cases, etc.