Article Databases to Answer What and Some Why!
MedlinePlus is a resource that provides reliable overviews of health topics that are easy to read. It's a good place to find background information on your epidemic!
- The History of Science, Technology, and MedicineHistory of Science, Technology and Medicine reflects the influences of these fields on society and culture from prehistory to the present, and offers outstanding value for interdisciplinary research. This essential database includes records of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other related materials.
- Alt-Press WatchContains full-text articles from magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Coverage includes a broad range of critical issues confronting contemporary society, including ecology and the environment, grassroots organizing, labor, indigenous peoples, public policy, genetics, and much more.
- America: History and LifeScholarly literature on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada.
- Ethnic NewsWatch, 1969 to the presentEthnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of newspapers and periodicals from the ethnic, minority and Native American press. The database allows both full-text and indexed searching. Search pages are available in English and Spanish.
- Gender WatchThis is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, NGO's, etc
- Historical AbstractsScholarly literature in history from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada. Database coverage starts in 1955.
- Reader's Guide to Periodical LiteratureReaders' Guide Full Text is a database containing comprehensive indexing and abstracting of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada, plus the full text of selected periodicals. Also included is the Readers' Guide Retrospective which contains indexing of over 600 titles between 1890 and 1992.
- Reader's Guide Full TextFull text of popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada, such as Time, Newsweek, and U.S. News & World Report.
Article Databases to Answer Why!
- Sociological AbstractsLiterature in sociology and related social and behavioral sciences.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)Great database for searching across the social sciences.
- Worldwide Political Science AbstractsScholarly articles within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
- PAIS International1914 to the present.
Index to articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs. - Anthropology PlusAnthropology Plus provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present
- Web of ScienceSearch major journals across the social sciences, sciences and even the humanities.
- PubMed (Customized for Tufts)PubMed covers the journal literature in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, healthcare systems, pre-clinical sciences, and bioethics.
