Compiled by Charlie Fiss from the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries. Not all resources are free and available to everyone.
Country Reports and annual profiles, Country Commerce, Financial Services Report, Global Forecasting Service.
Europa World Plus is the online version of the most recent Europa World Year Book and the nine Regional Surveys of the World – Africa South of the Sahara, Central and South-Eastern Europe, Eastern Europe, Russia and Central Asia, The Far East and Australia, The Middle East and North Africa, South American, Central America and the Caribbean, South Asia, the USA and Canada, and Western Europe. This reference work provides up-to-date background and statistical information on every country in the world.
Print only; from 1890 -
Statistical and historical annual of the states of the world.
Use the State Department's Country Profiles link (on right navigation bar) or Countries & Regions tab to locate country information.
At the top of the web page choose Browse by Topic to locate specific items of interest.
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: Data & Statistics
Statistics by country for blood pressure, body mass index, cholesterol, diabetes, and glucose.
Provides access to statistical data produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. There are up to 2 billion charts, maps, views, rankings, time series and tables available for use in the Data-Planet repository.
Searchable catalog of research data repositories.
Has conducted more than 300 surveys in over 90 countries. Great resource for demographic and health data. Very good coverage for Africa.
This resource provides data by country on HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria and other key health and socio-economic indicators. Data is also browsable by topic. The data are displayed in tables, charts, and color-coded maps and can be downloaded for custom analyses. Data presented on GlobalHealthFacts.org are obtained from a variety of public and private sources, including original Kaiser Family Foundation reports.
Statistical tables available for download. Focuses on Woman and children. Access to datasets available with registration.
Statistical data source on countries with information from sources such as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. Users can generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics.
SourceOECD provides online access to Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) resources, covering trade, health, environment, agriculture, technololgy, economic development, and more. The books, reports, working papers and periodicals are full-text and the databases have extensive statistical information.
From the drop-down menu also see Statistical Abstract of the World.
Provides access to statistics and tables in reports produced by federal agencies, states, intergovernmental organizations as well as private enterprise.
Search a variety of United Nations statistical databases.
Collection of statistical databases, including World Development Indicators, African Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, Millennium Development Indicators, and others.
Statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.
World Health Organization (WHO): Data/Statistics (Global Health Observatory)