EndNote: the Basics

Once EndNote is installed on your computer,  it's time to get started! This section will review the following:

• creating and saving an EndNote library
• collecting references from databases 
• creating references manually and from article PDFs 
• editing references
• using "Groups" to organize the references 
• removing references from a library
• creating a back-up EndNote library

Creating Your First EndNote Library

An EndNote library is a collection of references. In EndNote, you can create multiple libraries (i.e., a library for each project) or have one library in which you store all of your references. To create your first library in EndNote, open EndNote then:

1. Select Create a new library when prompted.
2. Select a location on your computer. Do not select a location that is a linked cloud-based drive. 
3. Give your library a name and select Save.

The File Structure of EndNote Libraries

When an EndNote library is created and saved, two files will created: (1) file for your library; and (2) a folder file ending in .Data. It will look like this:



Your library file and your folder file ending in .Data must always be stored in the same location on your computer. If the .Data file associated with your EndNote library is missing or deleted, the library will not function. To upload or email your EndNote library with its associated .Data file, you need to save your library as a compressed file. 

Mac users also have the option of saving their EndNote library as .enlp file, which is 'package' file. This means that the library and .Data files will be stored together in what will appear to be a single file. There are advantages - and - disadvantages of saving an EndNote library as .enlp file. Please consult EndNote's FAQ on .enlp files to decide whether saving your library as an .enlp will be helpful to you.

Most database platforms offer some type of direct export of citations into EndNote. Look for export options in databases' tools for saving and sharing references. If you do not see an EndNote export option listed, then look for an option to export citations in RIS format.

The following are instructions for exporting references from several major database platforms. 

EBSCO 

1. Perform a search in an EBSCO database. Select the references you want to export by clicking the Add to Folder icon. 
2. When ready to export your selected references, select the Folder icon on the command ribbon. Your references will be displayed. Select all of the references and then select Export icon listed in the right side of the screen.
3. Under Save citations to a file formatted for, select Direct Export in RIS Format (e.g. CITAVI, EasyBib, EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager, Zotero). Select Save. 

To bulk download citations, pull down the "Share" option on the right side of the results screen. Then, select use the "Email a link to download exported results (up to 25000)". 

Google Scholar

1. From the Google Scholar search page, click on the Settings icon, located on the upper right-side of the screen. 
2. Under Bibliography Manager, select Show links to import into and select EndNote from the drop-down menu. Click Save.
3. Conduct your search in Google Scholar.
4. Each record displayed will have an Import into EndNote link. Click on the Import into EndNote link.

Ovid 

1. Perform a search in an Ovid database and use the checkboxes to select individual references.
2. Scroll up to the top of the list of references and select Export.
3. In the "Export Citation List" window:
   • Under the Export to pull-down menu>>EndNote
   • Under Select Fields to Display>> select Complete Reference
   • Select >>Export Citation(s)

You can bulk export up to 5000 references at a time.

ProQuest 

1. You will need to create an account with ProQuest.
2. Once you have create an account in ProQuest, perform a search in a ProQuest database. Use the checkboxes to select individual references.

3. Scroll up to the top of the list of references and select Export/Save

4. Select EndNote, Citavi, or Reference Manager. Another window will open prompting you to select EndNote, Citavi, or Reference Manager, then select Continue.

PubMed

1. Perform search in PubMed. On the results screen, choose citations to export by selecting the checkbox next to the result.
2.  At the top of the results screen, select Send To and then Citation manager.
3.  From the pull-down menu, choose which results to export, then select Create File.

EMBASE

1. Perform search in Embase. On the results screen, choose citations to export by selecting the checkbox next to the result.
2. At the top of the results list, either choose citations to export by selecting the checkbox next to the result - or - select the number of results you want to export from the pull-down menu. Select Export.
3. From Format the pull-down menu, select RIS Format (Mendeley, EndNote).

Scopus

1. Open another browser window, go to Scopus and perform a search. Use the checkboxes to select individual references.
2. Scroll to the top of the list of search results and select the Export icon.
3. Under Export format, select RIS Format (Reference Manager, ProCite, EndNote). Under Output select All Available Information. Select Export.
4. A .ris file will be downloaded from Scopus. Save this file onto your computer.
5. In EndNote, go to File > Import. Browse for and select the .ris file you saved. Under Import Option, select Reference Manager (RIS). Select Import.

Tufts Libraries Catalog

1.  Perform a search in the Tufts Catalog. Use the checkboxes to select individual results.
2.  At the top of the results screen. Click on "..." icon (near to the push pin icon).  
3. Select "Export RIS" and then select "Download."  

Web of Science

1. Perform a search in Web of Science and use the checkboxes to select individual references.
2. At the top (or bottom) of the results list, from the pull-down menu select the option Save to EndNote desktop.
3. If prompted, select the EndNote program file. 

Creating References Manually

If you need to reference a source that is not available in database that provides direct export, you will need to create a reference in EndNote manually (i.e., 'by hand'). To create a reference in EndNote manually:

1. In your library, go to the command bar on the upper left-side of the screen and select References >>New Reference.
2. An EndNote reference template will open, the default reference type will be Journal Article. Use the pull-down menu to select a Reference Type to see all of the references types available. Select the reference type for your source; use the Generic reference type if you are not sure of the reference type.
3. Fill in the required fields for the reference type. Consult the Citing Information guide for more information on how to create a citation that has the information required to create complete for the reference type.
4. When you have completed creating a new reference, close out of the window and select Save.     

Creating Journal Article References from PDFs

EndNote allows users to create journal article references from PDFs if it has a DOI (Digital Object Identifier) embedded within it. A DOI will provide information regarding the article (i.e., article title, authors, journal name, date, volume and issue). If a DOI is not embedded within the  PDF, EndNote will still import the file but you will need to enter the article's information manually.

To import an individual PDF file, or a folder of PDF files, complete the following steps:

1. In the command bar on the upper left-side of the screen, select File >>Import... >>select either a File or Folder
2. When prompted, browse for and choose the file, or folder, you want  to import.
3. Under Import Option, select PDF and then, Import.

PDFs are imported with a title <file name > will require you to enter additional information. Try updating the reference information by adding the full article title manually, saving the references and then selecting from the command bar, References >>Find Reference Updates.

EndNote allows you to create groups and sets of groups to organize references within your library.

Creating a Group

1. From the command bar at the top of the screen, Select Groups then Create Group.
2. Give the group a name; this will appear on the left-side of the screen.

Putting references in a group

1. Using the mouse while pressing the Ctrl key (or ⌘ key), select the references you wish to add to a group.
2. Drag and drop the highlighted reference from your reference list into the group on the left side of the screen.

Removing references from a group

1. Using the mouse while pressing  the Ctrl key (or ⌘ key), select the references you wish to remove from a group.
2. Right-click the mouse (Control-click) and select Remove References from Group. This will remove the reference from the group but not from your EndNote library. Please note that dragging and dropping references from a group into the Trash will delete the reference from the entire library!

Creating a Group Set

A group set allows you to organize multiple groups under an overarching topic/theme/category

1. From the command bar at the top of the screen, Select Groups then Create a Group Set.
2. Give the group set a name; this will appear on the left-side of the screen.
3. You can create groups within the group set by "right-clicking" (or "⌘ key-clicking") on the group set name and selecting Create Group. It will look like this:

Editing a Reference

1. Select the reference you want to edit and then select the Edit tab on reference display panel on the right side of the screen. This will show you information fields for the reference.
2. After you have finished editing the reference, select Save at the top of the display panel.

Attaching PDFs to a reference

1. From the list of references, select and double-click on a particular reference to which you want to attach a PDF.
2. Then, either:
   • At the top of the edit a reference window, click on the paperclip icon. Select a PDF stored on your computer and select Open. 
   •  - OR -
   • In the reference edit window, scroll down until you see the File Attachments field. Right-click within the File Attachments field and File Attachments >> Attach Files.  Select a PDF stored on your computer and select Open. 

Removing references

1. Using the mouse while pressing  the Ctrl key (or ⌘ key), select the references you wish to delete. 
2. Drag and drop the highlighted reference from your reference list to the Trash icon on the left side of the screen.

References are emptied from the Trash when you close out of EndNote. Once the Trash has been emptied, deleted references cannot be retrieved. 

Compressing an EndNote library

Use the compress library feature to create a back-up, send or upload a copy of an EndNote library.

1.  In your EndNote library, go to the command ribbon and select File> Compressed Library (.enlx).
2. Select whether you want to:
   •  include file attachments (i.e., PDFs)
   • to compress only certain references belong to a group or that you have selected
3. Select Next. When prompted, select a location on your desktop and provide a name for the file. If creating a back-up library, it is a good idea to include the date created as part of the file name.

A single file containing ending in .enlx will be created containing both the library's .enl file and it's associated .data folder. When this file is saved and opened on a computer with EndNote installed, EndNote will extracted the .enl and .data files.