Skip to Main Content
Research Guides@Tufts

EndNote: the Basics

Attaching PDFs to a reference

Attaching PDFs to a reference

  1. From the list of references, select and double-click on a particular reference to which you want to attach a PDF.
  2. Then, either:
    • At the top of the edit a reference window, click on the paperclip icon. Select a PDF stored on your computer and select Open. 
    •  - OR -
    • In the reference edit window, scroll down until you see the File Attachments field. Right-click within the File Attachments field and File Attachments >> Attach Files.  Select a PDF stored on your computer and select Open. 

Finding and Downloading Full-Text (PDFs)

EndNote can batch download PDFs. However, please keep in mind that this feature works ONLY with publications which are either open access, or to which Tufts has a subscription - AND -  which support the OpenURL protocol. This feature works most reliably when on the Tufts network or using Tufts VPN. Follow the steps below to help modify your EndNote setting to optimize full-text retrieval from Tufts:

  1. In the command bar on the upper left-side of the screen, select Edit >>Preferences >> Find Full Text. Then:
    • Select all four checkboxes for Find Full Text.
    • In the OpenURL Path field, enter the following: 
      https://tufts-primo.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/openurl/01TUN/01TUN_SP? 
    • Click OK

Finding and Downloading Full-Text (PDFs)

  1. Select the references for which you want to find the full-text. You can select up to 250 references at a time.
  2. From the command bar, go to References >> Find Full Text - or - select the Find Full Text icon (it contains a magnifying glass image) at the top of the reference list.

Please be aware that some publishers will only allow EndNote to provide a direct link to the full-text rather than providing a PDF file. PDF files that are downloaded will be placed within the .data folder associated with the EndNote library.