LibGuides: Boston to Mound Bayou: Columbia Point & Delta Health Center: Tufts DCA Collection

About Tufts DCA

Located on the Medford/Somerville campus of Tufts, the Tufts Digital Collections and Archives (DCA), "supports the teaching and research mission of Tufts University by ensuring the enduring preservation and accessibility of the university’s permanently valuable records and collections."

Below are links to records within DCA's Digital Library that regard Columbia Point and the Delta Health Center, Inc..

Overview

Tufts Comprehensive Community Health Action Program

This link launches a search in the Tufts Digital Collections & Archives database that retrieves "information dealing with the TCCHAP (the Tufts Comprehensive Community Health Action Program). This collection contains information of various committees, family support groups and activities, financing, various projects, budget, childcare, information about the Columbia Point Outreach Center and the outreach center in Mound Bayou."

Other Materials

Light on the Hill, Volume II by Russel Miller [E-Book]
"Light on the Hill, the second volume of the history of Tufts University, was published in 1986, covering the years from 1952 to 1986. This document was created from the 1986 edition of Light on the Hill, Volume II."

NB: Scroll to page 337 for information regarding Count Gibson and the establishment of Mound Bayou and Columbia Point programs.
New England Medical Center Timeline
"This is Appendix A of the New England Medical Center Historical Resource Guide. The Timeline 'lists important events in the history of the New England Medical Center, its predecessor organizations, and a number of related events in medical, professional, and local history."

NB: pages 66 and 73 make reference to Mound Bayou/Columbia Point programs.
Officials of North Bolivar County Health Council meeting at Tufts to discuss Mound Bayou [Photograph]
"8x10. Identified on back: "Man away from camera on far left, Jack Geiger, TUSM."
This object is in collection: School of Medicine records, 1885-1998"
Participation, Power, and Place: Roots of the Community Health Center Movement [Thesis]
By Morissa Sobelson; part of the "Undergraduate honors theses, 1943-2007" collection.