LibGuides: Health Sciences Writing Consultants: Resources for Writers

Avoiding Plagiarism

Our Avoiding Plagiarism page provides information on different forms of plagiarism, tips on how to avoid accidental plagiarism, and the guidelines for Academic Integrity at Tufts.

Writing Personal Statements

General Style Guides:

Identify potential problems in your writing style and learn to correct them: https://writingcenter.unc.edu/tips-and-tools/style/
Nine basic ways to improve your academic writing style: https://slc.berkeley.edu/writing-worksheets-and-other-writing-resources/nine-basic-ways-improve-your-style-academic-writing
A book Christine recommends, Words Fail Me by Patricia T O’Conner, is available free as an ebook for those with Amazon Prime accounts.

General Personal Statements Guides

Tips for writing a personal statement: https://www.cmu.edu/hpp/apply-to-schools/personal-statements/tips.html
Questions to ask yourself before you write: https://owl.purdue.edu/owl/job_search_writing/preparing_an_application/writing_the_personal_statement/index.html

Medical School:

Writing the Personal Statement for Medical School: https://ocs.yale.edu/resources/writing-the-personal-statement-for-health-professions-applications/
7 Tips for Writing Your AMCAS® Personal Comments Essay: https://students-residents.aamc.org/applying-medical-school/article/7-tips-write-your-essay/

Medical Residency:

Medical Residency Personal Statements Resources: https://career.ucsf.edu/professional/personal-statements-letters-recommendation#Medicine-Personal-Statement-Resources

Dental Residency:

Dentistry Personal Statements Resources: https://career.ucsf.edu/professional/personal-statements-letters-recommendation#Dentistry-Personal-Statement-Resources

Resources for Different Types of Writing Projects

Personal statement: https://www.cmu.edu/hpp/apply-to-schools/personal-statements/tips.html

Literature review: http://writingcenter.unc.edu/tips-and-tools/literature-reviews/

Policy memo: https://sites.duke.edu/policybridge/files/2017/04/Policy-Memo-One-pager.pdf

Op-ed: https://www.unh.edu/writing/sites/default/files/media/pdfs/op-ed_article.pdf

Writing a Research Paper

Use the University of Minnesota Libraries' Research Paper Navigator! Just enter the due date and subject of your paper, and this incredible resource will generate a timeline for your research, drafting and revising, as well as point you toward relevant sources and help you avoid accidental plagiarism.

Helpful Books Available as eBooks

The Elements of Style by William Strunk
The original edition of the concise classic, with essential advice for aspiring writers like "omit needless words." With simple principles and helpful tips on usage and composition, as well as lists of common errors to avoid, The Elements of Style was first published during World War I by Cornell University professor William Strunk Jr. Originally intended for Cornell students, it would become widely renowned as a memorable short guide for those who want to write clear, correct, and effective prose. A staple in countless classrooms and a touchstone for generations, it is still relevant and useful a century later.
On Writing by Stephen King
Part memoir, part master class by one of the bestselling authors of all time, this superb volume is a revealing and practical view of the writer's craft, comprising the basic tools of the trade every writer must have. King's advice is grounded in his vivid memories from childhood through his emergence as a writer, from his struggling early career to his widely reported, near-fatal accident in 1999--and how the inextricable link between writing and living spurred his recovery. Brilliantly structured, friendly and inspiring, On Writing will empower and entertain everyone who reads it--fans, writers, and anyone who loves a great story well told.
Woe Is I by Patricia T. O'Conner
In this expanded and updated edition of Woe Is I, former editor at The New York Times Book Review Patricia T. O'Conner unties the knottiest grammar tangles with the same insight and humor that have charmed and enlightened readers of previous editions for years. With fresh insights into the rights, wrongs, and maybes of English grammar and usage, O'Conner offers in Woe Is I down-to-earth explanations and plain-English solutions to the language mysteries that bedevil all of us.

Helpful Books on Reserve at HHSL

The Art of Styling Sentences by Ann Longknife; K. D. Sullivan
Call Number: PE 1441 L57 2012
A must-have for any student or aspiring writer, this book reviews the fundamentals of good sentence structure: Conventions of writing style change in subtle ways with passing years--a fact that prompts the need for periodic revisions of books like this one. The authors review the fundamentals of good sentence structure and then go on to describe twenty basic sentence patterns that encompass virtually every effective way of writing sentences in English. They also draw on passages by current prominent writers, using these examples to show how varying rhythm and sentence patterns can result in elegant writing styles that keep their readers interested. Exercises with answers and explanations appear throughout the text. Overflowing with practical and useful advice, this little gem will change the way people write.
The Elements of Style by William Strunk; E. B. White
Call Number: PE 1408 S927e 2000
You know the authors' names. You recognize the title. You've probably used this book yourself. This is The Elements of Style, the classic style manual, now in a fourth edition. A new Foreword by Roger Angell reminds readers that the advice of Strunk & White is as valuable today as when it was first offered.This book's unique tone, wit and charm have conveyed the principles of English style to millions of readers. Use the fourth edition of "the little book" to make a big impact with writing.
Health Writer's Handbook by Barbara Gastel
Call Number: WZ 345 G255h 2005
Barbara Gastel, physician and acclaimed medical journalist, has prepared an expanded, enhanced second edition of Health Writer's Handbook. Fully updated, the latest edition of this trusted handbook has grown by nearly 100 pages, solidifying its reputation as a "practical guide packed with specifics on how to write about health intelligently and with sensitivity" (Nieman Reports). Examples of exemplary health writing now abound with insightful annotated comments. "Medical Reporting for the Electronic Media" (contributed by Tom Linden, M.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill) addresses health reporting for television, radio, and the Internet. Also new to this edition is coverage of legal matters in the retitled "Ethical and Legal Issues" chapter. Journalistic exercises bring chapters to a close giving the reader opportunities to apply the principles presented. Health Writer's Handbook, Second Edition is a reference guide and textbook all in one, invaluable to experienced health writers looking to improve their writing and to students beginning their study in medical journalism.
On Writing by Stephen King
Call Number: PS 3561 I488 Z475 2010
Part memoir, part master class by one of the bestselling authors of all time, this superb volume is a revealing and practical view of the writer's craft, comprising the basic tools of the trade every writer must have. King's advice is grounded in his vivid memories from childhood through his emergence as a writer, from his struggling early career to his widely reported, near-fatal accident in 1999-and how the inextricable link between writing and living spurred his recovery. Brilliantly structured, friendly and inspiring, On Writing will empower and entertain everyone who reads it-fans, writers, and anyone who loves a great story well told.
A Pocket Style Manual by Diana Hacker; Nancy Sommers
Call Number: WZ 345 H119 2012
ISBN: 1319341969
Publication Date: 2020-09-15
A Pocket Style Manual is a straightforward, inexpensive quick reference, with content flexible enough to suit the needs of writers in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, health professions, business, fine arts, education, and beyond. With its signature Hacker handbook quick-reference features; hand-edited sentences; color-coded documentation coverage; user-friendly index entries; and a clean, uncluttered design, A Pocket Style Manual has always provided fast, effective answers to writing and research questions. The new edition provides even more help with research writing and supports students in every discipline.
They Say / I Say by Gerald Graff; Cathy Birkenstein
Call Number: PE 1431 G73 2014
"They Say / I Say" identifies the key rhetorical moves in academic writing, showing students how to frame their arguments in the larger context of what others have said and providing templates to help them make those moves. And, because these moves are central across all disciplines, the book includes chapters on writing in the sciences, writing in the social sciences, and--new to this edition--writing about literature.
Woe Is I by Patricia T. O'Conner
Call Number: PE 1112 O28 2009
In this expanded and updated edition of Woe Is I, former editor at The New York Times Book Review Patricia T. O'Conner unties the knottiest grammar tangles with the same insight and humor that have charmed and enlightened readers of previous editions for years. With fresh insights into the rights, wrongs, and maybes of English grammar and usage, O'Conner offers in Woe Is I down-to-earth explanations and plain-English solutions to the language mysteries that bedevil all of us.
Words Fail Me by Patricia T. O'Conner
Call Number: PN 147 O27 1999
A fun, focused guide to making words work for you Whether you are working on the novel that's been in the back of your mind for years or simply facing an increasing demand to write well at work or school, the fact remains: we all write more often these days, be it reports, e-mails, blog posts, or texts. But despite the increase in written communication, the fundamentals of good writing have been lost. Grammar maven Patricia T. O'Conner comes to the rescue with the most painless, practical, and funny writing book ever written. In short, snappy chapters filled with crystal-clear examples, amusing comparisons, and humorous allegories that cover everything from "Pronoun Pileups" and "Verbs That Zing" to "What to Do When You're Stuck," O'Conner provides simple, straightforward tips to help you sort through your thoughts and make your sentences strong.

General Resources About Writing

Purdue University Online Writing Lab
This is one of the most extensive online writing resources for students. The site features printable handouts on various writing and grammar issues, as well as interactive workshops on using APA and MLA citation styles.

“English Language Resources Online”
Great online book source: Strunk and White’s Elements of Style, American Heritage Dictionary, Roget’s II: The New Thesaurus, etc.

Grammar Girl
A fun (yes, fun!) website with tips on writing, grammar, punctuation, and style, organized by topic.

Resources for ESL Students

We are trained to work with international students on improving their writing skills. For example, we can help you understand your readers' expectations when writing for an American audience, offer advice on reading and improving comprehension, work on identifying grammar errors, and help you self-edit and revise your papers. Here are some other resources you may find useful:

Writing Clearly by Janet Lane; Ellen Lange
Call Number: PE 1128 L3375 2012
Writing Clearly: Grammar for Editing helps students become independent self-editors through thorough error analysis. Focusing on the fifteen most common areas of difficulties for English language learners, this definitive guide offers clear grammar explanations, self-help strategies, and additional exercises for practice.
McGraw-Hill's Essential ESL Grammar by Mark Lester
Call Number: PE 1128 L4568 2008
Master American English and communicate with confidence. As an experienced student of English, you know the language can be a tricky one to learn with its complex grammar and its many "exceptions to the rule" rules. Written by ESL guru Mark Lester, this authoritative reference unravels these mysteries so you can take your English-language skills to the next level. You'll gain the confidence to speak English in any setting. Master those troublesome subjects that baffle even native speakers of English: articles * determiners * predicate adjective complements * post-noun modifiers * conjunctions * word order * verb tenses * modals * noun clauses