Museum Studies

ARTstor is a nonprofit resource that provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences.

Migration to New Worlds explores the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia. It is full of marvelous primary sources!

Slavery & Antislavery: A Transnational Archive  Digital primary source collection made up of four parts, Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition; Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World; Part III: Institution of Slavery; Part IV: Age of Emancipation. Includes digitized books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, manuscripts, private papers, and letters touching on all aspects of historical slavery.

Aspiration, Acculturation and Impact: Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930. A collection of selected historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums that documents voluntary immigration to the United States from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression.

Digital Collections and Content. An amazingly diverse collection of digital resources from museums, libraries and archives. An ongoing, joint project of the IMLS and the University of Illinois Library.

Early Encounters in North America. 1,500 authors and over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters.

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Photo Library.

Digital Collections (formerly American Memory). From the Library of Congress. Access online collections: view maps & photographs; read letters, diaries & newspapers; hear personal accounts of events; listen to sound recordings & watch historic films. Some collections are still in American Memory, but many have been migrated out to the Digital Collections.

Veteran History Project. From the American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress. Collects, preserves, and makes accessible the personal accounts of American war veterans so that future generations may hear directly from veterans and better understand the realities of war.

Google Cultural Institute: Art Project The Google Cultural Institute brings together millions of artifacts from multiple partners, with the stories that bring them to life, in a virtual museum. Art Project "is an online platform through which the public can access high-resolution images of artworks housed in the initiative’s partner museums." (Wikipedia)