Physical Therapy

Extensively referenced and abundantly illustrated, the 7th Edition of this reference is a "must read" for surgeons interested in the upper extremity, hand therapists from physical therapy or occupational therapy backgrounds, anyone preparing for the CHT examination, and all hand therapy clinics. Offers comprehensive coverage of all aspects of hand and upper extremity disorders, forming a complete picture for all members of the hand team-surgeons and therapists alike.

Provides the information you need to assess the reliability and diagnostic utility of musculoskeletal physical exams and incorporate evidence into your clinical decision making. Summary tables and carefully selected references highlight best available evidence, providing a practical resource for the busy student and clinician. Provides up-to-date, actionable summaries of available evidence so you can quickly evaluate the effectiveness of clinical tests, review recent studies, and determine which test will best predict a specific diagnosis. Includes more than 25 videos showing movement for select tests, helping you get the most clinically significant information from the orthopaedic examination.

A complete introductory text to musculoskeletal focuses on the conditions and procedures. Signs in musculoskeletal imaging. Includes upper and lower extremity trauma, axial skeletal trauma, arthritis and infection, tumors, metabolic bone diseases MRI for shoulder, knee, spine, elbow, wrist, hip, and ankle .

The flagship title from the prestigious American College of Sports Medicine, this critical handbook delivers scientifically based, evidence-informed standards to prepare you for success. Providing succinct summaries of recommended procedures for exercise testing and exercise prescription in healthy and diseased patients, NEW! Chapter on conditions that affect the brain familiarizes students with specific strategies for the treatment of Parkinson's disease, Alzheimer's disease, autism, depression and anxiety.

This book will present comprehensive information on the unique physiologic effects of SCI and the potential role of exercise in treating and mitigating these effects. In addition, it will incorporate work from scientists across a number of disciplines and have contributors at multiple levels of investigation and across physiologic systems. Furthermore, SCI can be considered an accelerated form of aging, therefore, the information presented may have a broader importance to the physiology of aging as it relates to inactivity. This book will also address the potential health benefits for those with an SCI that can be realized if a sufficient exercise stimulus is provided.

The Transgender Athlete: A Guide for Sports Medicine Providers presents sports medicine practitioners insights into the unique issues and concerns of transgender athletes in order to help them understand rules regarding transgender athlete participation and learn how to better provide competent care to transgender athletes.

Commensurate with an emphasis on evidence-based practice and health competencies to improve patient outcomes, get a solid foundation in cardiovascular and pulmonary physiology and rehabilitation! Provides a holistic, person-centered approach to the spectrum of cardiovascular and pulmonary physical therapy. From examination and evaluation to interventions, this book guides you through the health promotion strategies for maximizing patients' health and wellbeing, in conjunction with managing the needs of patients with acute and chronic conditions, those in intensive care units, and of special populations such as children and elders.

This easy-to-follow guide is the perfect resource to help any rehabilitation professional better understand and interpret hospital protocol, safety, medical-surgical "lingo," and the many aspects of patient care in the hospital setting - from the emergency department to the intensive care unit to the general ward.

This is a comprehensive book on physiotherapy for adult neurological disorders with chapters describing physiotherapy assessment and management for those adult patients in the acute care and rehabilitation units of hospitals or centers.

This book is limited to one user at a time. Please be sure to close it when you are done.

Stroke and spinal cord injury often result in paralysis with serious negative consequences to the independence and quality of life of those who sustain them. Neuroplastic-based interventions enhance the efficacy and continue to guide the development of new rehabilitation strategies. This book presents three important technology-based rehabilitation interventions that follow the concepts of neuroplasticity. These interventions are: functional electrical stimulation therapy, robot-assisted therapy, and brain-computer interfaces,

The special needs of the elderly in all health care settings is the unifying element of this book. It emphasizes a balance of theory, clinical application of knowledge, and clinical skills in caring for the older adult population, and focuses on the practical components for their comprehensive rehabilitation. This book addresses and incorporates aspects of prevention, fitness, and wellness into the rehabilitative model of care for elders with and without pathological conditions.

Geriatric Physical Therapy provides the most authoritative overview available on managing the special needs of the elderly in all health care settings. Through nearly 200 cases, the text offers a skill-building balance of theory and clinical application of knowledge in caring for the older adult population. Nearly 200 cases examine both acute and chronic stage settings, and provides suggested tests and measures. A well-referenced and scientific approach provides the depth to understand integral processes and procedures

Addresses diabetes from a comprehensive, multidisciplinary perspective. Its purpose is to integrate state-of-the-art information on diabetes from specialists in various disciplines, including epidemiology, public health, pathophysiology, non-pharmacologic and pharmacologic treatment, patient support, acute and chronic complications, new and unproven therapies, and prevention.

This book is limited to one user at a time. Please be sure to close it when you are done.

Gain a solid foundation in physical therapy for infants, children, and adolescents! Campbell's Physical Therapy for Children, 6th Edition provides essential information on pediatric physical therapy practice, management of children with musculoskeletal, neurological, and cardiopulmonary conditions, and special practice settings. Following the APTA's Guide to Physical Therapist Practice, this text describes how to examine and evaluate children, select evidence-based interventions, and measure outcomes to help children improve their body functions, activities, and participation.

Presents a step-by-step approach to the treatment of chronic wounds. - For dermatologists, but also many other medical disciplines such as general practitioners and family physicians who also treat chronic wounds.

The acclaimed on-the-go wound care guide for the physical therapist. Delivers outstanding visual guidance and clear, step-by-step instruction on caring for patients with wounds. The case studies also give real-world relevance to the principles discussed. Covers fundamental topics such as anatomy and physiology of the integumentary system and acute and chronic wound healing, discusses specific disorders such as vascular wounds, lymphedema, pressure ulcers, diabetes, burns, and more