LibGuides: EC 0127: Urban Economics: Finding Articles

Need full text access?

Sometimes you may find an article in a library database or on Google Scholar that doesn't include full text access (or the full text might be behind paywall in the case of Google Scholar). Interlibrary loan is a program that allows Tisch Library to help you get the access you need with help from other academic and research libraries.

Interlibrary Loan
Information on the process and policies for borrowing books and other sources from other libraries.
Link Google Scholar to Tufts Resources
Follow these directions so that Google Scholar will automatically check to see if Tufts provides access to full-text articles.

Select Economics & Social Science Databases for Urban Economics

Urban Studies & Planning: Sage Journals Online
Search from a selection of Sage journals on urban studies and planning

Web of Science
Search across all Web of Science databases in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Results include indices, journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources.
ABI/INFORM Collection
Indexing, abstracts, and full-text of scholarly and trade journal articles in business, management, and trade. Also covers dissertations, SSRN working papers, market reports, industry reports, business cases, local and regional business information, and global and trade news. Includes full text of The Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition and digital images of selected key business journals from the first issue to the present. 1971-. 520 Article citations and some full text articles in business-related publications. A complete database comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, Dateline, and Trade & Industry.
PAIS Index
This resource covers issues in public policy, combining both PAIS Archive and PAIS International, with coverage from 1915 to present. Sources include journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material and more. The resource provides a broad perspective on social and public policies, from historical (Prohibition, civil rights, McCarthyism) to current (health policy, climate change, terrorism).

Select General and U.S. Government Publication Databases

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences 1951- .
The IBSS has more than two million references to articles and books going back to 1951 in the social sciences. It is produced by the London School of Economics and Political Science. Compliments EconLit and PAIS.
Social Sciences Citation Index. 1956- .
The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. You can search both this index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index together.
LexisNexis Academic
Includes the text of articles from major American newspapers and regional papers, statistics, company financial information, country and state profiles, and medical information.

Congressional Publications
A major online resource for information on all aspects of Congressional work. Includes hearing transcripts, committee reports, bills, CRS Reports, the Congressional Record, the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, and public laws.

Select Working Papers in Economics

RePEc: Urban & Real Estate Economics
New working papers in the area of Urban & Real Estate Economics
RePEc: Economic Geography
New working papers in the area of Economic Geography
NBER Working Papers.
The National Bureau of Economic Research Working Papers are available now on line going back to November of 1994. Aimed at professional economists, these papers represent the original research of more than 600 leading scholars in their fields.
CEPR (Centre for Economic Policy Research) Discussion Papers.
The CEPR publishes over 250 Discussion Papers each year. CEPR Discussion Papers are the primary method for the distribution of research carried out by the Centre, and represent timely and original thinking on important issues in economics.

Selected Newspapers, Journals & Magazines

Access Magazine
Click on the Archive link to get to previous issues.
Cityscape 1994- .
Indexed in EconLit.
Housing Policy Debate. 1990- .
Indexed in EconLit.
New York Times. 1851-three years before current date.
Includes full-text and full-image articles. Does not include freelance written articles or copyrighted materials. You will need to use the NYT on microfilm to get the complete article.
The Economist
1997 to the present
The Economist: Historical Archive 1843-2014
Search the Economist as far back in history as you like.
CityLab
"Through original reporting, sharp analysis, and visual storytelling, CityLab informs and inspires the people who are creating the cities of the future—and those who want to live there."
Wall Street Journal
The Wall Street Journal is an American business-focused international daily newspaper based in New York City.

Looking for other library resources?

In addition to the Best Bets on the Getting Started tab, the below resources will help you find other subject-specific databases, books, and newspapers. If you still are struggling to find what you are looking for, please don't hesitate to ask Cece for help!

Economics (General)
by Cece Lasley Last Updated Oct 31, 2024 1339 views this year
Urban & Environmental Policy and Planning (General)
by Stacey Brownlie Last Updated Aug 6, 2024 532 views this year