Health Sciences Image and Video Use and Attribution

These images are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International license, and can be used for any purpose as long as properly attributed.

These images are a collaboration between Dr. David Lee Bassett, Viewmaster inventor William B. Gruber, and three artists. They are a collection of both stereoscopic images and medical illustrations, 1500 in total, from the 1950’s and 60’s.

The Bassett Collection images are available through collaboration with Stanford University.

The images collected within HEAL are available for educational use with proper attribution.

The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) is assembled from a variety of health science collections on topics including hematology, neurology, dermatology, and others.

While once disparate collections in various places, HEAL exists in association with the University of Utah J. Willard Marriott Digital Library.

Users must obtain permission for reuse, and images should be accompanied by proper attribution.

MedPics is an image library containing clinical, pathology, hematology, and histology images.

MedPics is created in association with the UC San Diego School of Medicine.

The images within the NCI’s database are either public domain or copyright protected. When using these images, users should confirm the specific access and usage of each image on a case by case basis and always use proper attribution to the National Cancer Institute or the image’s owner.

“The National Cancer Institute's (NCI) Visuals Online provides a range of photographs and illustrations that may help communicators of medical and public health convey meaning, describe concepts, and tell stories. The collection spans everything from biomedical, science, and patient-care related illustrations and images to portraits of present and past directors and the staff of the National Cancer Institute.”

The Visuals Online database is created in association with the National Cancer Institute.

Terms of Use from the World Health Organization can be found in the header of this section.

The Global Photo Search is a collection of “photographs covering WHO’s work, health topics, diseases and wider issues related to public health since 1948.”

The Global Photo Search is created in association with the World Health Organization.