LibGuides: Systematic Reviews: Databases

Search Reminders

Some things to keep in mind when formulating your search:

Does the database use a controlled vocabulary or is it all keywords?
Use both controlled vocabulary and keywords in your search
What are your inclusion/exclusion criteria? (Make a list)
Make a list of all the ways to express your concepts
Group like concepts together with the command OR
When using keywords think about truncation; plurals; abbreviations; and alternate spellings

Core Databases

PubMed@Tufts
This link provides access to NCBI's databases with links out to articles licensed by Tufts. Its MEDLINE contains over 11 million journal citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, healthcare systems, and pre-clinical sciences. Full-text coverage of journals licensed or owned by Tufts is available via blue Tufts print and electronic icons on its Abstract display below each citation. Links to free full text and to Tufts' holdings appear to the right of the search results.
OVID/MEDLINE
International biomedical journal literature includes over 11 million journal citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, healthcare systems, and pre-clinical sciences. Provides full-text access to Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.
Embase
A biomedical and pharmacological database produced by Elsevier B.V., containing 30 million records including articles from more than 8,500 journals published world-wide. It contains bibliographic records with citations, abstracts and indexing derived from biomedical articles in peer reviewed journals, and its especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research, pharmacology and toxicology.
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
Access this resource via OVID to search CENTRAL
SCOPUS
An index to the scientific technical and medical literature covering 14,000 scholarly titles including 2,700 titles in Social Science, Psychology, and Economics. Updated daily. Full-text linking is available and the database contains 100% of EMBASE holdings and allows emtree vocabulary terms as keyword searches.
Web of Science
A comprehensive database providing retrospective access with cited references from articles covered from 1974 in: Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, BIOSIS Previews, FSTA and MEDLINE
Latin American and Caribbean Health Sciences Literature (LILACS)
Includes descriptions and indexing of theses, books, books chapters, congresses or conferences annals, scientific-technical reports, journal articles, etc, related to health area in Latin American and the Caribbean.

Specialized Databases

The library subscribes to hundreds of databases covering a wide variety of topics. If we do not have access to a resource recommended in the Cochrane Handbook, we likely have others that will provide similar coverage. The best way to identify additional databases is to speak with a librarian.

BIOLOGY & PHARMACOLOGY

HEALTH PROMOTION

INTERNATIONAL HEALTH

Global Health

SOCIAL AND COMMUNITY HEALTH AND WELFARE

Social Care Online

SOCIAL SCIENCE, EDUCATION, PSYCHOLOGY AND PSYCHIATRY

Research Registers

NIH RePORTer
The Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tools (RePORT) Website provides a central point of access to reports, data, and analyses of NIH research.
National Reasearch Register (NRR) Archive
The National Research Register (NRR) Archive provides information and data from research that took place in NHS organisations in England, Scotland and Wales up until September 2007.