Systematic Reviews

By the New York Academy of Medicine, a bimonthly report and database of grey literature published in the areas of health policy, healthy aging, prevention, eliminating health disparities, engaging communities, and global health.

Mednar is a free, publicly available deep web search engine that uses advanced "federated search technology" to return high quality results by submitting your search query - in real-time - to other well respected search engines then collating, ranking and dropping duplicates of the results.

OAIster, via WorldCat, provides access to digital primary source materials from libraries, archives, museums, and cultural heritage organizations worldwide.

OpenGrey is a multidisciplinary European database, covering science, technology, biomedical science, economics, social science and humanities. The information is all in English and covers technical or research reports, doctoral dissertations, conference papers, official publications, and other types of grey literature.

This database sunset in December 2024, though its resources can still be accessed through its web archive.

Provides selective subject and bibliographic access to periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other international publications on global public policy and other issues. Dates of coverage begin in 1972 and continue to the present.

science.gov is a gateway to over 50 million pages of authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results.

A global science gateway—accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals. You can conduct keyword searches in your native language.

Compiled by Amy LaVertu, this guide provides an exhaustive list of statistics and data resources searchable by topic.

National Cancer Institute
Authoritative source of information on cancer incidence and survival in the United States.

Administration on Aging (AOA)
Includes data on the following topics: Profile of Older Americans, AGing Integrated Database (AGID), Census Data & Population Estimates, Projected Future Growth of Older Population, Minority Aging, and Key Indicators of Well-Being

Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services
Includes national health care indicators and expenditures (aggregate national health care spending); Medicare enrollment (aged, disabled, all), utilization, and expenditure; DRG data for short-stay hospitals; Medicare Chartbook; Data Compendium (Annual compilation of national health care data); Medicaid data.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Detailed information on dental events, including source of payment(s), total payment and total charge, type of provider seen and procedures(s) associated with each dental event.

Lists NIH-supported data repositories that accept submissions of appropriate data from NIH-funded investigators (and others). Also included are resources that aggregate information about biomedical data and information sharing systems.

BPL is a patent depository and provides reference assistance to the public.

Its esp@cenet provides access to all applications published by its national offices in the past two years (or more in some cases).

Select Legal Research & scroll down to Patents, where you can search U.S. patents by keywords, patent numbers or classification numbers. The U.S. Patent & Trademark Office's Manual of Classification, which is keyword searchable, provides classification numbers for enhanced searching.

SciFinder provides access to the CAplus database of chemical literature and U.S. and foreign chemical-related patents, to CASREACT, CHEMLIST and CHEMCATS, to the Registry database from Chemical Abstracts Service, and to Medline. It includes journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, substance database and dissertations covered in Chemical Abstracts as well as articles currently being indexed, book reviews and biographical information.

Provides searchable collections of current and expired patents and trademarks, forms, guides, laws, and links to other resources.

The DART-Europe partners help to provide researchers with a single European Portal for the discovery of Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETDs), and they participate in advocacy to influence future European e-theses developments. DART-Europe offers partners a European networking forum on ETD issues, and may provide the opportunity to submit collaborative funding applications to achieve DART-Europe's vision for ETDs.

EThOS offers a coherent and consistent interface by implementing a central 'hub' comprising an e-store and a digitisation suite at The British Library site in Boston Spa, Yorkshire. The hub automatically harvests e-theses from Institutional Repositories and digitises paper theses from participating institutions to offer the single point of access.

HSRIC is a research portal of health services research resources providing numerous Internet links to data, funding announcements, reports, podcasts, discussion groups, and more. It is not an index of all health services resources on the Web. Rather, it contains selective links representing a sample of available information. Items are selected for their quality, authority of authorship, uniqueness, and appropriateness.

The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD), an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). We support electronic publishing and open access to scholarship in order to enhance the sharing of knowledge worldwide. Our website includes resources for university administrators, librarians, faculty, students, and the general public. Topics include how to find, create, and preserve ETDs; how to set up an ETD program; legal and technical questions; and the latest news and research in the ETD community.

Consists of three products combined into one database: Dissertations & theses @, Dissertations & theses: A&I, and Dissertations & theses: full text. Provides citations to dissertations from 1861. Dissertations published since July 1980 and master's theses published since 1988 include an author abstract. Where available, provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses. More than 750,000 dissertations are available as full-text. Adds more than 60,000 new dissertations each year.