Master of Nutrition Science and Policy (MNSP) Toolkit

"This course aims to increase knowledge on food composition data. It is for anyone working with food composition and dietary data. It consists of 14 lessons, ranging from approximately 25 to 65 minutes, grouped into 5 units."

Compiled by the USDA, "FoodData Central is an integrated data system that provides expanded nutrient profile data and links to related agricultural and experimental research."

"The Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations International Network of Food Data Systems’ directory of databases from around the world. Includes databases from Asia, Africa, Canada, Caribbean, United States, Europe, Latin America, Middle East, and Oceania, as well as a set of international databases."

Part of Euromonitor's Passport GMID, Passport Nutrition is a "a first-of-its-kind database examining the total amount of nutrients purchased through packaged food and soft drink products worldwide". To access Passport Nutrition, on the top of the main page, select "Industries >Nutrition.” Data on fresh food and alcoholic beverages is also available.

Provides access to data regarding caloric/nutrient values of foods, dietary references, food consumption, food prices, and agriculture.

List of data sets on a variety of topics produced by the Economic Research Service (ERS) of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

"FAOSTAT provides free access to food and agriculture data for over 245 countries and territories and covers all FAO regional groupings
from 1961 to the most recent year available."

"The mission of the Food Surveys Research Group is to monitor and assess food consumption and related behavior of the U.S. population by conducting surveys and providing the resulting information for food and nutrition-related programs and public policy decisions."

Produces a wide variety of publications that provide country specific and comparative data on population, health, and nutrition in developing countries.

A program of studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States. The survey is unique in that it combines interviews and physical examinations. Coordinated by the National Center for Health Statistics of the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Nutrition Landscape Information System (NLIS) is web-based tool provides nutrition and nutrition-related health and development data in the form of automated country profiles and user-defined downloadable data. Produced by the World Health Organization.

What We Eat in America (WWEIA) represents the integration of two nationwide surveys - USDA's Continuing Survey of Food Intakes by Individuals (CSFII) and HHS' NHANES. Under the integrated framework, DHHS is responsible for the sample design and data collection. USDA is responsible for the survey's dietary data collection methodology, development and maintenance of the food and nutrient databases used to code and process the data, and data review and processing.

"View nutrient profiles for foods commonly eaten in the U.S. [and] Familiar portion sizes are included for each food. Portion sizes can be adjusted by the user."