LibGuides: Tufts Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences: Find Chemical & Drug Information

Chemical Information Resources

Finding Chemical Property or Reaction Information

Resources use different naming conventions for chemical substances. Thus, searching by substance name is the least efficient way to find chemical information. The following approach is recommended when searching for chemical property or reaction information:

Structure: Utilize structure editor in resource to draw substance. Most effective method of searching, but structure editor not available in all resources.
Chemical Abstracts Services Registry Number (CAS RN): The Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) of the American Chemical Society assigns unique identification numbers to chemical substances, e.g. 1007-32-5. Highly accurate method of searching, but not 100%, particularly in databases not produced by CAS.
Molecular Formula: Effective search method, but may retrieve long list of results.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics
Current edition of classic reference, consisting of tables of property data for organic, inorganic and biochemical compounds. Search by substance name, formula, property or structure.
Knovel Critical Tables
Collection of interactive tables for physical, thermal and electrical properties of chemical compounds, common solvents, and more.
Merck Index Online
Regularly updated encyclopedia with more than 11,500 monographs for chemicals, drugs and biologicals. Search by name, CAS registry number, molecular formula or structure.
SciFinder
Comprehensive database of journal articles, patents, technical reports, conference proceedings and books from all areas of chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering and related sciences from 1907 to present. Registration is required to use this database. To register, click the link above and follow the instructions.

Drug Information Resources

AHFS Drug Information 2017 by American Society of Health-System Pharmacists
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781585285570

Publication Date: 2017

Comprehensive, evidence-based source of information for prescriptive, over-the-counter, ophthalmic and dermatologic drugs. Drug monographs include: therapeutic recommendations, interactions, adverse reactions, cautions, off-label uses, chemistry and pharmacokinetics.

Drug Information Portal
This sites allows you to search across multiple National Library of Medicine databases (MedlinePlus, LactMed, DailyMed, PubMed, TOXLINE, PubChem, etc.) and other government resources (ClinicalTrials.gov, Drugs@FDA, etc.) for drug information.

Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation by Gerald G. Briggs; Roger K. Freeman
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781451190823

Publication Date: 2015

Leading drug reference for treatment of pregnant or breastfeeding patients. Listing nearly 1,200 commonly prescribed drugs taken during pregnancy and lactation, each drug monograph offers a summary of known or possible effects on mother, embryo, fetus and nursing infant.

DrugPoints System
Concise synopses on FDA-approved drugs that provide: dosing and indications, with strength of evidence; contraindications; drug interactions; adverse effects; and images for identification. Updated monthly.

DynaMedex
DynaMed is point-of-care resource that provides evidence-based summaries for thousands of clinical topics. Also includes drug monographs from Micromedex, with detailed dosing, interactions, adverse effects and pharmacodynamic information.
EMBASE
Indexes biomedical journal articles and conference proceedings from 1974 to present, with in-depth coverage of pharmaceutical and medical device research and discovery.
LexiDrug Online
Point-of-care resource dedicated to drug information. Monographs have information on: dosing and administration; warnings and precautions; pharmacogenomics; pharmacology and pharmacokinetics. Lexi-Tox, a separate database within Lexicomp Online, provides information on the presentation, treatment and pharmacology of a variety of toxins.

U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
The FDA is the government agency responsible for ensuring that drugs, vaccines and other biological products are safe and effective. On their website, you can find information about drug development and approval, safety and availability, and recalls. You will also find links to Drugs@FDA and the Orange Book, which provides information about FDA-approved drugs.

Pharmacology Books

Basic and Clinical Pharmacology by Bertram Katzung; Susan Masters; Anthony Trevor
Call Number: E-Book and Print: HHSL Circ Desk Reserve QV 4 B311 2015

ISBN: 9780071825054

Publication Date: 2015

Basic & Clinical Pharmacology covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice.
Brody's human pharmacology : mechanism-based therapeutics by Wecker, Lynn, editor.Taylor, David A. (David Alan), 1948- editor.Theobald, Robert James, Jr. editor.
Call Number: E-Book and Print: HHSL Circ Desk Reserve QV 4 H918 2019

ISBN: 9780323596626

Publication Date: 2019

This book provides a succinct overview of the most important aspects of pharmacology. It reviews the concepts, clinical applications and side effects of pharmacology, placing an emphasis on practical applications of the material.
The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics by Louis Sanford Goodman; Laurence L. Brunton; Bruce Chabner; Bjorn Knollman
Call Number: Electronic

ISBN: 9780071624428

Publication Date: 2011

Popular pharmacology text describing the actions and uses of therapeutic agents in relation to physiology and pathophysiology.
A Pharmacology Primer: Techniques for More Effective and Strategic Drug Discovery by Terry Kenakin
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9780124076631

Publication Date: 2014

This book features the latest ideas and research about the application of pharmacology to the process of drug discovery to equip readers with a deeper understanding of the complex and rapid changes in this field, including data-driven drug discovery, biased signaling, structure-based drug design, and drug activity screening.
Rang and Dale's Pharmacology by James M. Ritter; Rod J. Flower; Graeme Henderson; Yoon Kong Loke; David MacEwan; Humphrey P. Rang
ISBN: 9780702074486

Publication Date: 2019-01-25

Rang and Dale's Pharmacology delivers essential pharmacology information, beginning with a molecular understanding of receptors and drug actions through clinical uses of key groups of drugs.

Need Help?

Ask Us

Access Knowledge Base
Phone 617-636-6705
Email hhsl@tufts.edu
Text 617-477-8493

Desk Hours: M-F 7:45am-5pm