Search this Digital Content
Each text in this resource is fully searchable if you click on the title. If you prefer to search more than one text at a time, use the search box on this page to search the full text of multiple works by the same author, by different authors, or throughout the entire collection. See the Supplementary Material for links to the complete, searchable digitized works of an individual author.
Anthony Trollope, 1815-1882
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Anthony Trollope's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
The Warden
by
Publication Date: 1855Satirical story of a quiet cathedral town shaken by scandal as the traditional values of Septimus Harding are attacked by zealous reformers and ruthless newspapers. -
Barchester Towers
by
Publication Date: 1857This sequel to The Warden wryly chronicles the struggle for control of the English diocese of Barchester. -
The Three Clerks: A Novel
by
Publication Date: 1857Concerns three civil servants, Henry Norman and the cousins Alaric and Charley Tudor, who are involved with the three daughters of Mrs. Woodward, a clergyman's widow. -
Doctor Thorne: A Novel
by
Publication Date: 1858The squire of Greshamsbury has fallen on hard times so his son Frank needs to make a good marriage. But Frank loves the doctor's niece, Mary Thorne, a girl with no money and mysterious parentage. -
Framley Parsonage
by
Publication Date: 1861Mark Robarts, an easy-going young vicar, is given the living of Framley by his old school friend Lord Lufton. He foolishly signs two notes of guarantee for the unscrupulous MP Nate Sowerby for a considerable sum of money. -
The Small House at Allington
by
Publication Date: 1864Concerns Lily Dale and her sister Bell, living with their widowed mother in the small house at Allington, supported by old Squire Dale. -
Can You Forgive Her?
by
Publication Date: 1865Alice Vavasor cannot decide whether to marry her ambitious but violent cousin George or the upright and gentlemanly John Grey - and finds herself accepting and rejecting each of them in turn. -
The Last Chronicle of Barset
by
Publication Date: 1867When Reverend Josiah Crawley, the impoverished curate of Hogglestock, is accused of theft it causes a public scandal, sending shockwaves through the world of Barsetshire. -
Phineas Finn, the Irish Member
by
Publication Date: 1869Tells of the career of a hot-blooded middle-class politician whose sexual energies bring him much success with women. -
The Eustace Diamonds by
Publication Date: 1872Following the death of her husband Sir Florian, beautiful Lizzie Eustace mysteriously comes into possession of a hugely expensive diamond necklace. -
Phineas Redux
by
Publication Date: 1874When his political rival is murdered, Phineas Finn is thrown under suspicion and eventually finds himself standing trial at the Old Bailey. -
The Way We Live Now
by
Publication Date: 1875Augustus Melmotte is a financier with a mysterious past. When he moves his business and family to London, the city's upper crust begins buzzing with rumors about him, and a host of people find their lives changed because of him. -
The Prime Minister
by
Publication Date: 1876Despite his mysterious antecedents, unscrupulous financial speculator Ferdinand Lopez aspires to join the ranks of British society and determines to marry into respectability and wealth. -
The Duke's Children: A Novel
by
Publication Date: 1880Plantagenet Palliser, the Duke of Omnium and former Prime Minister of England, is widowed and struggling to adapt to life without his beloved Lady Glencora while guiding and supporting his three adult children.
Frances Milton Trollope, 1779-1863
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Frances Milton Trollope's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
The Vicar of Wrexhill
by
Publication Date: 1837A villainous vicar insinuates himself into the life of a wealthy but foolish widow, ruining the fortunes and happiness of her three children, until they begin to fight back. -
Life and Adventures of Michael Armstrong, the Factory Boy by
Publication Date: 1840Michael Armstrong is a factory boy who is at first rescued by a wealthy benefactor but who is later returned to the mills.
Mary Augusta (Mrs. Humphry) Ward, 1851-1920
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Mary Augusta Ward's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
The Story of Bessie Costrell by
Publication Date: 1895John Bolderfield is an old man who has accumulated by hard labor enough money to last for the rest of his life, which he entrusts to his niece, Bessie Costrell.
H.G. Wells, 1866-1946
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about H.G. Wells' life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
The Time Machine
by
Publication Date: 1895When a Victorian scientist propels himself into the year 802,701 AD, he is initially delighted to find that suffering has been replaced by beauty, contentment, and peace.
William Hale White, 1831-1913
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about William Hale White's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
The Autobiography of Mark Rutherford: Dissenting Minister
by
Publication Date: 1881Autobiographical fiction describing W.H. White’s progress from Protestant Christianity to a form of Wordsworthian pantheism.
Oscar Wilde, 1854-1900
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Oscar Wilde's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
The Picture of Dorian Gray
by
Publication Date: 1891Dorian Gray’s portrait is painted by Basil Hallward, who is charmed by his looks. But Sir Henry Wotton seduces Dorian into the worship of youthful beauty, and Dorian makes a wish he will live to regret.
Mary Wollstonecraft, 1759-1797
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Mary Wollstonecraft's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
Mary: A Fiction
by
Publication Date: 1788Tells the tragic story of a heroine's successive "romantic friendships" with a woman and a man. -
The Wrongs of Woman, or Maria
by
Publication Date: 1798Maria fights imprisonment and a loveless marriage to claim her rights.
Ellen (Mrs. Henry) Wood, 1814-1887
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Ellen Wood's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
East Lynne
by
Publication Date: 1861When the aristocratic Lady Isabel abandons her husband and children for her wicked seducer, more is at stake than moral retribution.
Charlotte Mary Yonge, 1823-1901
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Charlotte Mary Yonge's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
The Heir of Redclyffe
by
Publication Date: 1853Tells the story of the Byronic Guy Morville, heir to the Redclyffe baronetcy, and his cousin Philip Morville, a conceited hypocrite who enjoys an unwarrantedly high reputation. -
The Daisy Chain: Or, Aspirations: a Family Chronicle
by
Publication Date: 1856Chronicles the lives, loves, and aspirations of the many delightful members of a middle-class, provincial family, the Mays.