Search this Digital Content
Each text in this resource is fully searchable if you click on the title. If you prefer to search more than one text at a time, use the search box on this page to search the full text of multiple works by the same author, by different authors, or throughout the entire collection. See the Supplementary Material for links to the complete, searchable digitized works of an individual author.
Robert Louis Stevenson, 1850-1894
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Robert Louis Stevenson's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
Treasure Island by Publication Date: 1883Seen through the eyes of Jim Hawkins, the cabin boy of the Hispaniola, it tells of a perilous sea journey across the Spanish Main, a mutiny led by the infamous Long John Silver, and a lethal scramble for buried treasure on an exotic isle.
Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Publication Date: 1886Depicts the gripping struggle of two opposing personalities — one essentially good, the other evil — for the soul of one man.
Kidnapped: Being Memoirs of the Adventures of David Balfour in the year 1751 by Publication Date: 1886The saga of David Balfour, a young heir whose greedy uncle connives to do him out of his inherited fortune and plots to have him seized and sold into slavery.
The Master of Ballantrae: A Winter's Tale by Publication Date: 1889James Durie leaves his ancestral home to support the Scottish rebellion, leaving his younger brother Henry to inherit the title of Lord Durrisdeer.
Island Nights' Entertainments by Publication Date: 1893Also known as South Sea Tales, a collection of three short stories, “The Beach of Falesa,” “The Bottle Imp,” and “The Isle of Voices."
Weir of Hermiston: An Unfinished Romance by Publication Date: 1896Adam Weir marries Jeannie Rutherford of Hermiston. Weir is the Lord Justice Clerk, a severe and gruff man who uses coarse language and likes his drink.
Bram Stoker, 1847-1912
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Bram Stoker's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
Dracula by Publication Date: 1897During a business visit to Count Dracula's castle in Transylvania, a young English solicitor finds himself at the center of a series of horrifying incidents.
Robert Smith Surtees, 1805-1864
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Robert Smith Surtees' life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
Handley Cross; or, Mr. Jorrocks's Hunt by Publication Date: 1843Comic novel that centers on the adventures of John Jorrocks, an eccentric grocer turned Master of Fox Hounds.
Meadows Taylor, 1808-1876
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Meadows Taylor's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
Confessions of a Thug by Publication Date: 1839A tale of crime and retribution set in 1832 in India that lays bare the practices of the Thugs, or deceivers as they were called, who murdered travelers for money and valuables.
William Makepeace Thackeray, 1811-1863
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about William Makepeace Thackeray's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
Catherine: A Story by Publication Date: 1839-40Tells the tale of Catherine Hayes, an 18th-century thief and murderer.
A Shabby Genteel Story by Publication Date: 1840Concerns the lower-middle class Gann family, who desire to mingle with their betters, and their misfortunes.
The Memoirs of Barry Lyndon, Esq., of the Kingdom of Ireland by Publication Date: 1844Barry Lyndon is a member of the Irish gentry trying to become a member of the English aristocracy.
Vanity Fair: A Novel Without a Hero by Publication Date: 1848No one is better equipped in the struggle for wealth and worldly success than the alluring and ruthless Becky Sharp, who defies her impoverished background to clamber up the class ladder.
The History of Pendennis: His fortunes and misfortunes, his friends and his greatest enemy by Publication Date: 1848-50Traces the youthful career of Arthur Pendennis: his first love affair, his experiences at university, and his employment as a London journalist.
Rebecca and Rowena: A Romance Upon Romance by Publication Date: 1850Revolves around the love of two women for one man, Sir Wilfrid of Ivanhoe.
The History of Henry Esmond, Esq. by Publication Date: 1852Orphaned in the England of the later Stuarts, Henry Esmond is raised by his aristocratic, Jacobite relatives the Castlewoods.
The Newcomes. Memoirs of a Most Respectable Family by Publication Date: 1854Considers the fortunes and misfortunes of a 'most respectable' extended middle-class family.
The Virginians: A Tale of the Last Century by Publication Date: 1857-59A sequel to Henry Esmond and loosely linked to Pendennis, it tells the story of Henry Esmond’s twin grandsons, George and Henry Warrington.Lovel the Widower by
Publication Date: 1860Frederic Lovel has married Cecilia Baker, who dies eight years later, leaving two children, the little prig Cecilia, and Popham.
The Adventures of Philip on his Way Through the World by Publication Date: 1862Philip Firmin, son of Dr. Brand Firmin and of Lord Ringwood’s wealthy niece, has been left a fortune at the death of his mother.
