Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What's In This Guide
Use the tabs above or the links below to navigate this guide alphabetically by author's last name. And remember, Help! is only a click away!
Keep up with the latest issue of the journal Nineteenth-Century Literature.
How to Use this Guide
Welcome to the Guide to Nineteenth-Century British Fiction Online. Use the links in the table of contents or the tabs at the top of the page to locate digitized versions of important works by key authors during the Long Nineteenth Century, stretching from the late Eighteenth Century to the early Twentieth Century. Each page presents the authors in alphabetical order. To find additional titles by each author as well as bibliographies, contextual information and more, click the tab marked Supplementary Material and choose from the dropdown list.
If you don't find what you are looking for or need help navigating this guide, don't hesitate to ask a librarian.
Good luck with your research!
Did you know that everything written in the Nineteenth Century is currently in the public domain? What that means is that every work of nineteenth-century fiction can be, and often is, freely available to the public. There are many online resources that provide high-quality digital versions of these books that you can read and download at no cost. Explore the resources below to find one of your favorite nineteenth-century novels or any other title currently in the public domain. Have fun exploring!
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a large-scale collaborative repository with over 10 million volumes including content digitized via the Google Books project, Internet Archive, and by local libraries. Public domain content is full-text; non-public domain content (post-1923) is for full-text searching only. Since Tufts is a member, those with a Tufts login can download the pdf of pre-1923 materials and can build a personal collection. To login select Collections, then select login from the upper right; choose Tufts University and login using your Tufts username and password.
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, and much more.
Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
Open Library is a project of the non-profit Internet Archive, and has been funded in part by a grant from the California State Library and the Kahle/Austin Foundation. It makes over 1,000,000 free ebook versions of classic literature available at your fingertips.
Project Gutenberg offers over 36,000 free ebook versions of titles in the public domain to download to your PC, Kindle, Android, iOS or other portable device. Choose between ePub, Kindle, HTML and simple text formats.
Westminster Detective Library
It is the mission of the Westminster Detective Library to catalog and make available online all the short fiction dealing with detectives and detection published in the United States before Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s “A Scandal in Bohemia” (1891)
Reading Europe: European culture through the book
The "Reading Europe: European culture through the book" exhibition offers a rare opportunity to view some of the hidden literary gems from the national libraries of Europe. Twenty-three countries have selected nearly a thousand works for the public to peruse. Visitors can discover everything from 18th century English bestsellers to the lost interiors of Russian palaces, all presented in an innovative and multilingual form.
More than 29,000 eBooks available for Kindle, Nook, iPad and most other eReaders, and they're all free!
LibriVox audiobooks are free for anyone to listen to on their computers, iPods or other mobile device, or to burn onto a CD. Titles on LibriVox are in the public domain and include a wide array of classic literature.