The Ingoldsby Legends, 1840
Author: Thomas Ingoldsby (pen name of Richard Harris Barham, 1788-1845)
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable Gothic titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Richard Harris Barham's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
The Ingoldsby Legends
by
Publication Date: 1840The Ingoldsby Legends is a collection of myths, legends, ghost stories, and poetry supposedly written by Thomas Ingoldsby of Tappington Manor, actually a pen-name for Richard Harris Barham, an English clergyman.
Jane Eyre, 1847
Author: Charlotte Brontë, 1816-1855
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable Gothic titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Charlotte Brontë's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
Jane Eyre by
Publication Date: 1847An orphaned young woman accepts employment as a governess at Thornfield Hall, a country estate owned by the mysteriously remote Mr. Rochester.
Wuthering Heights, 1847
Author: Emily Brontë, 1818-1849
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Emily Brontë's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
Wuthering Heights
by
Publication Date: 1847Set on the windy moors of Yorkshire, this Gothic novel tells the story of the doomed love between Catherine Earnshaw and her father’s adopted son, Heathcliff.
Mary Barton, 1848; The Grey Woman, 1861 & Lois the Witch, 1861
Author: Elizabeth Gaskell, 1810-1865
Below are the Gothic titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Elizabeth Gaskell's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
Mary Barton: A Tale of Manchester Life
by
Publication Date: 1848A murder-mystery involving betrayal between two Victorian working-class families, Mary Barton tells the story of the daughter of a disillusioned trade unionist who rejects her working-class lover in the hope of marrying the mill owner’s son and making a better life for herself and her father. -
The Grey Woman by
Publication Date: 1861A young narrator whose gender remains ambiguous comes to an inn in Germany and is told a story about a painting of a woman, Anna by name. In this ancient picture the woman is beautiful, but he is told by the family that it misrepresents the way she looked most of her life. Most of her life she was all grey in looks. She had turned grey with terror. -
Lois the Witch by
Publication Date: 1861Lois the Witch is a novella about an Anglican girl who emigrates to America and is tried at the Salem Witch Trials in 1692.
The Woman in White, 1860 & The Moonstone, 1868
Author: Wilkie Collins, 1824-1899
Below are the Gothic titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Wilkie Collins' life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
The Woman in White
by
Publication Date: 1860Walter Hartright's mysterious midnight encounter with the woman in white draws him into a vortex of crime, poison, kidnapping, and international intrigue. -
The Moonstone: A Romance
by
Publication Date: 1868The Moonstone, a priceless Indian diamond which had been brought to England as spoils of war, is given to Rachel Verrinder on her eighteenth birthday. That very night, the stone is stolen.
The Phantom Coach, 1864
Author: Amelia B. Edwards, 1831-1892
Below are the Gothic titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Amelia B. Edwards' life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
The Phantom Coach by
Publication Date: 1864Lost in the grim, snowy moors of northern England, a hapless hunter is on the brink of death when he is directed to the warm cabin of a bitter alchemist, whose theories on the unknown spike his imagination before setting off once more, this time in hopes of encountering the local coach set to come their direction.
Uncle Silas, 1864 & Carmilla, 1872
Author: Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu, 1814-1873
Below are the Gothic titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
Uncle Silas; a Tale of Bartram-Haugh
by
Publication Date: 1864A young heiress is compelled to join her mysterious uncle's peculiar household, which is staffed by unfriendly servants and tainted by a long-ago scandal. -
Carmilla
by
Publication Date: 1872One of the early works of vampire fiction, the story is narrated by a young woman preyed upon by a female vampire named Carmilla, later revealed to be Mircalla, Countess Karnstein.
Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, 1886
Author: Robert Louis Stevenson, 1850-1894
Below are the Gothic titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Robert Louis Stevenson's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde
by
Publication Date: 1886Depicts the gripping struggle of two opposing personalities — one essentially good, the other evil — for the soul of one man.
The Great God Pan, 1890; revised 1894
Author: Arthur Machen, 1863-1947
Below are the Gothic titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Arthur Machen's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
The Great God Pan
by
Publication Date: 1891; 1894Dr Raymond wishes to experience all that the world has to offer. After studying the human mind, he performs brain surgery on a young woman but the surgery goes awry.
The Picture of Dorian Gray, 1891
Author: Oscar Wilde, 1854-1900
Below are the Gothic titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Oscar Wilde's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
The Picture of Dorian Gray
by
Publication Date: 1891Dorian Gray’s portrait is painted by Basil Hallward, who is charmed by his looks. But Sir Henry Wotton seduces Dorian into the worship of youthful beauty, and Dorian makes a wish he will live to regret.
Dracula, 1897
Author: Bram Stoker, 1847-1912
Below are the Gothic titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Bram Stoker's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
Dracula
by
Publication Date: 1897During a business visit to Count Dracula's castle in Transylvania, a young English solicitor finds himself at the center of a series of horrifying incidents.
The Stolen Body, 1898
Author: H.G. Wells, 1866-1946
Below are the Gothic titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about H.G. Wells' life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
The Stolen Body
by
Publication Date: 1898A pair of casual paranormal researchers experiment with the idea of astral projection. One night, one of them inadvertently succeeds in projecting his spirit from his body, which is taken possession of by a malevolent entity in his absence.