The Monkey's Paw, 1902
Author: W.W. Jacobs, 1863-1943
Below are the Gothic titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about W.W. Jacobs' life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts
-
The Monkey's Paw
by
Publication Date: 1902Mr. and Mrs. White and their adult son, Herbert, are introduced to a mummified monkey's paw on which an old fakir placed a spell so that it would grant three wishes. The wishes are granted, but with hellish consequences as punishment for tampering with fate.
Ghost Stories of an Antiquary, 1904; A Thin Ghost and Others, 1911 & A Warning to the Curious and Other Ghost Stories, 1925
Author: M.R. James, 1862-1936
Below are the Gothic titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about M.R. James' life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts
-
Ghost Stories of an Antiquary by
Publication Date: 1904Classic collection of ghost stories include tales of apparitions and other supernatural horrors, which remain chilling to this day. -
A Thin Ghost and Others
by
Publication Date: 1919Collection of stories by Montague Rhodes James, a noted medieval scholar and provost of King's College, Cambridge and of Eton College. He is best remembered today for his ghost stories in the classic Victorian Yuletide vein. -
A Warning to the Curious and Other Ghost Stories
by
Publication Date: 1925A collection of ghost stories that often use rural settings, relying on a gentle, bucolic background to emphasize the awfulness of the otherworldly intrusions.
The Willows, 1907 & The Wendigo, 1910
Author: Algernon Blackwood, 1869-1951
Below are the Gothic titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Algernon Blackwood's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
The Willows
by
Publication Date: 1907Two friends traveling down the Danube River experience a series of unsettling phenomena and supernatural occurrences over the course of several days. -
The Wendigo by
Publication Date: 1910The Wendigo tells the story of a camping trip in the Canadian wilderness that goes horribly wrong when the hunters become the hunted. Drawing on the mythical creature known as the Wendigo, this story is regarded by many critics to be one of the best horror tales of all time.
August Heat, 1910 & The Beast with Five Fingers, 1917
Author: W.F. Harvey, 1885-1937
Below are the Gothic titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about W.F. Harvey's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts
-
August Heat
by
Publication Date: 1910Two men, unknown to each other, take a look at the other's possible future and suggest that one of them will be murdered and the other will be the murderer. -
The Beast with Five Fingers
by
Publication Date: 1917The right hand of blind scholar Adrian Bolsover becomes possessed (unbeknownst to Adrian) and bequeathes itself to Adrian’s nephew Eustace. Eustace is the target of the hand’s unexplained malevolence.
The Lair of the White Worm, 1911
Author: Bram Stoker, 1847-1912
Below are the Gothic titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Bram Stoker's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
The Lair of the White Worm
by
Publication Date: 1911The story creates a world of lurking horrors and bizarre denizens: a demented mesmerist, hellbent on mentally crushing the girl he loves; a gigantic kite raised to rid the land of an unnatural infestation of birds; and all the while, the great white worm slithers below, seeking its next victim.
The Haunted Woman, 1922
Author: David Lindsay, 1876-1945
Below are the Gothic titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about David Lindsay's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
The Haunted Woman by
Publication Date: 1922Isbel Loment, a young woman visiting a mysterious manor with her fiancé, discovers a hidden staircase that leads to a series of rooms only accessible to her.
Portrait of a Man with Red Hair, 1925
Author: Hugh Walpole, 1884-1941
Below are the Gothic titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Hugh Walpole's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
Portrait of a Man with Red Hair
by
Publication Date: 1925Charles Percy Harkness, an American living in Britain, travels to a mystical village for what is planned to be a restful break but that turns macabre.
The Demon Lover, 1927
Author: Elizabeth Bowen, 1899-1973
Below are the Gothic titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Elizabeth Bowen's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
The Demon Lover by
Publication Date: 1927A young woman named Althea encounters a mysterious and charismatic man who claims to be her long-lost lover.
The Stratagem and other Stories, 1929
Author: Aleister Crowley, 1875-1947
Below are the Gothic titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Aleister Crowley's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
The Stratagem and other Stories
by
Publication Date: 1929Includes "The Stratagem," "His Secret Sin, and "The Testament of Magdalen Blair," which tells the story of a psychic woman who delves into the dying, subconscious psyche of her husband.