U.S. Constitution Document
From the National Archives Exhibit "Charters of Freedom"
Reference Books on the Constitution
- Encyclopedia of the American ConstitutionPrint: 6 vols. Ref KF 4548 .E53 2000
- Encyclopedia of the First AmendmentPrint: 2 vols. Ref KF 4770 .E53 2008
- Encyclopedia of Constitutional Amendments, Proposed Amendments, and Amending Issues, 1789-1995Print: Ref KF 4557 .V555 1996
- The Founders' ConstitutionPrint: 5 vols. Ref KF 4502 .F68 1987
- The Language of the Constitution: a Sourcebook and Guide to the Ideas, Terms, and Vocabulary Used by the Framers of the United States ConstitutionPrint: Ref KF 4548.5 .G74 1991
Constitution Day
In 2005, Congress designated September 17 as Constitution Day and Citizenship Day to commemorate the signing of the U.S. Constitution on September 17, 1787.
- Constitution Day and Citizenship DayThe Law Library of Congress provides a history of this annual event.
- Teaching with Documents: Observing Constitution DayThe National Archives focuses on using primary sources to learn about the Constitution and the United States government.
- The Citizen's Almanac [PDF]This publication, which is given to every newly naturalized citizen of the United States, lists the rights and responsibilities of citizenship.
U.S. Constitution Analysis
- The Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and InterpretationAlso in Print: Ref KF 4527 .U54 2013 Centennial Edition
From GPO
Over 2,000 pages! You may want to use print edition/version. - United States Code AnnotatedThe first part of this multi-volume set includes the Constitution annotated. Arranged by amendment. Find cases associated by amendment.
Print: Ref KF62.5 .W45 - Encyclopedia of the American ConstitutionPrint: 6 vols. Ref KF 4548 .E53 2000
History of the Constitution
- Constitution of the United StatesBackground, history, text from the National Archives. See images of the original and read a transcript.
Part of the National Archives "Charters of Freedom" online exhibit - America's Founding Fathers: Delegates to the Constitutional ConventionPart of the National Archives "Charters of Freedom" online exhibit
- Documentary History of the Constitution of the United States of America, 1787-1870. Derived from the Records, Manuscripts and Rolls Deposited in the Bureau of Rolls and Library of the Department of StatePrint: 5 vols. Tisch Book Stacks JK 1111 .A52