Information to help graduate students prepare for non-academic careers. Free registration required and provides access to general information about career options, discussion forums, job postings, searchable member directory and meetup listings (including one in Boston). Tufts does not have an institutional subscription.
Making a Difference: Careers in Health Informatics addresses everyday questions from people interested in working in health informatics. Typically, this includes people who work in health care, computer and technology fields, information science, finance / insurance and related areas. The book aims to tell students about various jobs that exist in the health informatics field, what credentials they need to qualify for those jobs, and a brief description about what people in those roles tend to do every day. As faculty members teaching in a Master of Science in Health Informatics program, the authors say that they are fortunate to have eager, bright, and talented graduate students who are invested in related health informatics areas. This could be their experiences in medicine, nursing, clinical care, software engineering, finance, business, library science, data science, or caregiving. Common questions we hear from our students that may be similar to questions among readers include: 'what jobs are out there?', 'what can I do with this degree?' or 'what does a health informatics specialist do?' This book aims to answer some of these questions with a look into a day in the life of people working in this field. The book examines career options, roles, and skill sets important in health informatics across 6 related industries. We want readers to realize that their skills and interests can apply in many areas of the field, not exclusively hospitals. This book highlights 6 unique work segments (hospital systems, long term care, health IT / consumer health organizations, government, consulting, and payer / insurance companies) into which readers may look to expand their career opportunities. The hope is that this book will provide insight into career opportunities students and professionals may be qualified for, and interested in, but simply not aware of. Hiring managers and human resource professionals across the stakeholder groups across the stakeholder groups may also find the book helpful in learning about other roles that may benefit their organizations.
A growing number of people completing or holding graduate degrees now seek non-faculty positions--also called alternative academic, or "alt-ac" positions--at different stages in their careers. While an increasing number of people with doctoral degrees are hunting for a diminishing pool of tenure-track faculty jobs, most degree-granting institutions do not adequately prepare their graduate students to enter the new reality of the alt-ac job market. Yet the administrative ranks in higher education institutions are growing, as colleges and universities are creating a diverse range of positions that support teaching and learning efforts. Focusing on the range of potential alternative career choices, this highly practical book offers tools and prompts for readers who are: Considering whether to choose an alt-ac career path Seeking specific alt-ac positions Advising graduate students or mentoring recent professional graduates Encountering alt-ac career challenges The authors offer case stories--their own and those of colleagues across North America in alt-ac roles--with concrete examples designed to help readers pursue, obtain, and excel in a wide variety of alt-ac positions. The book can equally be used as a resource for graduate courses on professional development and job-market preparation.
An indispensable guide for grad students and academics who want to find fulfilling careers outside higher education An estimated ninety-three percent of graduate students in the humanities and social sciences won't get a tenure-track job, yet many still assume that a tenured professorship is the only successful outcome for a PhD. With the academic job market in such crisis, Leaving Academia helps grad students and academics in any scholarly field find satisfying careers beyond higher education. Short and pragmatic, the book offers invaluable advice to visiting and adjunct instructors ready to seek new opportunities, to scholars caught in "tenure-trap" jobs, to grad students interested in nonacademic work, and to committed academics who want to support their students and contingent colleagues more effectively. After earning a PhD in classics from the University of Virginia and teaching at Tulane, Christopher Caterine left academia for a job at a corporate consulting firm. During his career transition, he went on more than 150 informational interviews and later interviewed twelve other professionals who had left higher education for diverse fields. Drawing on everything he learned, Caterine helps readers chart their own course to a rewarding new career. He addresses dozens of key issues, including overcoming psychological difficulties, translating academic experience for nonacademics, and meeting the challenges of a first job in a new field. Providing clear, concrete ways to move forward at each stage of your career change, even when the going gets tough, Leaving Academia is both realistic and filled with hope.
What if all your years of hard work in academia finally paid off? Imagine never having to work in another dead-end academic position, or being able to tell the world you are in a leadership position within a thriving company. PhDs are in demand in industry, but often, these PhDs are invisible to potential employers. Dr. Isaiah Hankel, leverages his expertise as the CEO of the world's largest career training platform for PhDs, Cheeky Scientist, to help PhDs overcome their biggest obstacle: obscurity. The Power of a PhD is the stepwise blueprint that 18 million PhDs worldwide are seeking. Dr. Isaiah Hankel's eight core steps within The Power of a PhD include: Industry career options for PhDs Communicating the right skills Writing industry résumés Mastering LinkedIn profiles Networking and job referrals Generating informational interviews Acing industry interviews Negotiating your salary This eight-step approach provides a consistent and proven methodology that allows PhDs to transition into industry without suffering the painful process of trial and error. You could be the next PhD hired at Amazon, Google, Apple, Intel, Dow Chemical, BASF, ERM, Merck, Genentech, Nestle, Hilton, Tesla, Syngenta, Siemens, the CDC, UN or Ford Foundation!
For decades, top scientists in colleges and universities pursued a clear path to success: enroll in a prestigious graduate program, conduct research, publish papers, complete the PhD, pursue postdoctoral work. With perseverance and a bit of luck, a tenure-track professorship awaited at the end. In today's academic job market, this scenario represents the exception. As the number of newly conferred science PhDs keeps rising, the number of tenured professorships remains stubbornly stagnant. "Next Gen PhD: A Guide to Career Paths in Science is a practical and thorough manual for the entire career transition process, from defining personal interests and deciding on a career path all the way to day one of a new job. Written by experienced career counselor Melanie Sinche, it is geared toward postdocs and graduate students who may not have access to effective career counseling or mentorship or are not satisfied with what they have received thus far." --Teegan A. Dellibovi-Ragheb, Science "With its focus on PhD level scientists, this book fills a gap in job search and career information literature. It's a must-read for those contemplating or actively pursuing studies in the subject area, as well as those who provide guidance to undergraduates, graduate students, and postdoctoral scholars." --Alan Farber, Library Journal (starred review)
Call Number: HHSL Business & Careers Collection W 87 C678L 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Lab Dynamics is a unique guide to the interpersonal side of scientific research and management. The book provides practical solutions to some of the toughest problems that working scientists and science managers face daily problems for which most scientists are unprepared. Eleven thematically focused chapters show scientists how to communicate and interact more productively and how to develop and improve their management and leadership skills.
Career Opportunities in Biotechnology and Drug Development provides a comprehensive and systematic overview of careers in the life science industry, with all their ups and downs. The author conducted interviews with hundreds of key players in the industry, who provide first-hand explanations of their day-to-day roles and responsibilities, and offer key insights into how they landed those jobs in the first place.
Call Number: HHSL Business & Careers Collection W 21 J35 2015
Publication Date: 2014
This book provides information about a wide variety of different careers that individuals with a PhD in the life sciences can pursue. Covering everything from science writing and grant administration to patent law and management consultancy, the book includes firsthand accounts of what the jobs are like, the skills required, and advice on how to get a foot in the door.
Call Number: HHSL Business & Careers Collection Q223 B37 2010
Publication Date: 2010
In this practical and entertaining guide to communicating science, Baron explains how to engage your audience and explain why a particular finding matters. She explores how to ace your interview, promote a paper, enter the political fray, and use new media to connect with your audience. The book includes advice from journalists, decision makers, new media experts, bloggers and some of the thousands of scientists who have participated in her communication workshops.
Filled with first-hand experiences and practical advice, this book guides readers through each step of the physician-scientist career path, from choosing a degree and training program, to navigating the tenure track, and through the intricacies of applying for and obtaining funding.
Call Number: E-Book and Print: HHSL Business and Career Collection W 20.5 V258 2009
Publication Date: 2009
In this book, leading physician-scientists and academic physicians examine the physician-scientist career from a variety of perspectives: historical, demographic, scientific, cultural, sociological, and economic.