Search this Digital Content
Each text in this resource is fully searchable if you click on the title. If you prefer to search more than one text at a time, use the search box on this page to search the full text of multiple works by the same author, by different authors, or throughout the entire collection. See the Supplementary Material for links to the complete, searchable digitized works of an individual author.
William Beckford, 1760-1844
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about William Beckford's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
Vathek by Publication Date: 1786Vathek is one of the earliest and most influential Gothic novels. Its hero is the Caliph Vathek who renounces Islam in a hedonistic quest for supernatural powers, which leads to his downfall.
Robert Bell, 1800-1867
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Robert Bell's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
The Ladder of Gold: An English Story by
Publication Date: 1850This novel tells the story of the fall of a speculator, his bankruptcy, and his return to prosperity through hard work.
Walter Besant, 1836-1901
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Walter Besant's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
Dorothy Forster by Publication Date: 1884Set during the Jacobite uprising of 1715, this historical romance follows the Forsters of Bamborough Castle, Northumberland.
William Black, 1841-1898
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about William Black's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
A Daughter of Heth by
Publication Date: 1871Orphaned by the recent death of her father, Catherine Cassilis, known as Coquette, comes to Airlie near Saltcoats in Southern Scotland, to live with her uncle, the Minister.
R.D. Blackmore, 1825-1900
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about R.D. Blackmore's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
Lorna Doone: A Romance of Exmoor by
Publication Date: 1869John Ridd has built a respectable life as a farmer when he falls in love with Lorna Doone, a member of the clan responsible for the death of his father.
George Henry Borrow, 1803-1881
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about George Henry Borrow's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
Lavengro by
Publication Date: 1851The son of an officer moves to London and becomes a Grub Street hack, observes London low-life, and takes to the road as a tinker.
M. E. (Mary Elizabeth) Braddon, 1835-1915
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about M.E. Braddon's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
Lady Audley's Secret by Publication Date: 1862This novel tells the story of the lovely Lucy Graham, who becomes Lady Audley at the beginning of the novel, and who conceals a scandalous secret from her new husband and his family.
Anne Brontë, 1820-1849
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Anne Brontë's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
Agnes Grey by
Publication Date: 1847Based on Brontë's own experiences, the novel describes the true feelings and sentiments of a young governess.The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by
Publication Date: 1848Epistolary novel framed as a series of letters from Gilbert Markham to his friend and brother-in-law about the events leading to his meeting his wife.
Charlotte Brontë, 1816-1855
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Charlotte Brontë's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
Jane Eyre by
Publication Date: 1847An orphaned young woman accepts employment as a governess at Thornfield Hall, a country estate owned by the mysteriously remote Mr. Rochester.Shirley by
Publication Date: 1849Struggling manufacturer Robert Moore considers marriage to the wealthy and independent Shirley Keeldar, yet his heart lies with his cousin Caroline.Villette by
Publication Date: 1853Villette recounts the true story of Brontë's unrequited love for a married schoolmaster through the adventures of her novel's heroine, Lucy Snowe, who travels to the fictional French town of Villette to teach at a girls' school.The Professor by
Publication Date: 1857, posthumousOrphan William Crimsworth, raised by aristocratic uncles and educated for the clergy, rejects that life for work at his brother's Yorkshire mill.
Emily Brontë, 1818-1849
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Emily Brontë's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
Wuthering Heights by Publication Date: 1847Set on the windy moors of Yorkshire, this gothic novel tells the story of the doomed love between Catherine Earnshaw and her father’s adopted son, Heathcliff.
Rhoda Broughton, 1840-1920
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Rhoda Broughton's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
Belinda by
Publication Date: 1883Belinda and her sister Sarah cavort through Europe "chaperoned" by a bright-eyed grandmother who harbors memories of an exciting past.
George Douglas Brown, 1869-1902
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about George Douglas Brown's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
The House with the Green Shutters by
Publication Date: 1901Describes the struggles of proud, taciturn John Gourlay against the spiteful comments and petty machinations of the envious and idle villagers of Barbie.