Search this Digital Content
Each text in this resource is fully searchable if you click on the title. If you prefer to search more than one text at a time, use the search box on this page to search the full text of multiple works by the same author, by different authors, or throughout the entire collection. See the Supplementary Material for links to the complete, searchable digitized works of an individual author.
William Harrison Ainsworth, 1805-1882
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about William Harrison Ainsworth's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
Jack Sheppard: A Romance by
Publication Date: 1839-1840A gripping historical romance that focuses on the dashing criminal Jack Sheppard, a real-life burglar.
Grant Allen, 1848-1899
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Grant Allen's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
The Woman Who Did by
Publication Date: 1895Herminia Barton, Cambridge-educated daughter of the Dean of Dunwich, is more determined than most to arrange her own life.
Jane Austen, 1775-1817
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Jane Austen's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
Sense and Sensibility by
Publication Date: 1811Mrs. Dashwood and her two daughters must leave the family home and move to a small house in another part of the country.
Pride and Prejudice by Publication Date: 1813When Elizabeth Bennet meets handsome bachelor Fitzwilliam Darcy, she immediately deems him proud--arrogant, conceited, and utterly obnoxious.
Mansfield Park by Publication Date: 1814Fanny Price goes to live with prosperous relatives at Mansfield Park and must navigate a labyrinth of intrigues and affairs among the occupants of the house.Emma by
Publication Date: 1815Emma Woodhouse imagines that she dominates those around her in the small town of Highbury, but her inept matchmaking creates problems for herself and others.
Northanger Abbey by Publication Date: 1818, posthumousCatherine Morland, who has a passion for macabre Gothic novels, experiences intrigue, adventure, and romance, in this gothic satire.
Persuasion by Publication Date: 1818, posthumousThe romance between Captain Wentworth and Anne, the daughter of Sir Walter Elliot, seems doomed because of the young man's family connections and lack of wealth.
Lady Susan by Publication Date: 1794, 1805Epistolary novel of Regency customs and manners that is one of Jane Austen's earliest finished works.The Watsons by
Publication Date: 1804Mr. Watson is a widowed clergyman with four daughters. In this unfinished novel, Austen lays out the family's situation and begins developing their relationships.Sanditon by
Publication Date: 1817This unfinished novel centers on Charlotte Heywood, the eldest of the daughters still at home in the large family of a country gentleman from Willingden, Sussex.
Robert Bage, 1728-1801
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Robert Bage's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
Man As He Is: A Novel by
Publication Date: 1792Bage’s books explore themes of upbringing, liberty and women’s rights.
Hermsprong, Or Man As He Is Not by Publication Date: 1796Considered radical when it was published, Hermsprong was shaped by the revolutionary ideas of its period and expresses some feminist views through two of its characters.
R.M. Ballantyne, 1825-1894
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about R.M. Ballantyne's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
The Coral Island: A Tale of the Pacific Ocean by Publication Date: 1858Fifteen-year-old Ralph, mischievous young Peterkin, and clever, brave Jack are shipwrecked on a coral reef with only a telescope and a broken pocketknife.
Sabine Baring-Gould, 1834-1924
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Sabine Baring-Gould's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
In the Roar of the Sea by
Publication Date: 1891This novel follows the travails of the Trevisa family as they struggle to navigate the aftermath of a tragedy.
Eaton Stannard Barrett, 1786-1820
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Eaton Stannard Barrett's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
The Heroine; or, Adventures of Cherubina by Publication Date: 1813Cherry Wilkinson has read one too many Gothic novels. When she finds a mysterious fragment of parchment and an antiquated portrait in her father's desk, she's convinced that she is a heroine and an heiress.
William Francis Barry, 1849-1930
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about William Francis Barry's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
The New Antigone: A Romance by
Publication Date: 1887This book addresses a number of contemporary issues, including free thinking, free love, atheism, socialism, and the new woman.