Search this Digital Content
Each text in this resource is fully searchable if you click on the title. If you prefer to search more than one text at a time, use the search box on this page to search the full text of multiple works by the same author, by different authors, or throughout the entire collection. See the Supplementary Material for links to the complete, searchable digitized works of an individual author.
Mary Brunton, 1778-1818
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Mary Brunton's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
Self-Control: A Novel by
Publication Date: 1811Devout Laura Montreville is pursued by the lecherous rake Colonel Hargrave. Despite her attraction to him, she is determined to have nothing to do with her roguish suitor.
Frances Hodgson Burnett, 1849-1924
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Frances Hodgson Burnett's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
Little Lord Fauntleroy
by
Publication Date: 1885-1886After the death of his father, Cedric Errol lives with his mother in genteel poverty. When his father's elder brothers die, Cedric inherits the title Lord Fauntleroy and is the heir to the earldom and a vast estate.
Fanny Burney, 1752-1840
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Fanny Burney's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
Cecilia, or, Memoirs of an Heiress by
Publication Date: 1782Cecilia is an heiress, but she can only keep her fortune if her husband will consent to take her surname. -
Camilla, or, A Picture of Youth
by
Publication Date: 1796Pursues the theme of a young woman negotiating her first encounters with a dangerous social world. -
The Wanderer: Or, Female Difficulties by
Publication Date: 1814Tells the story of a mysterious woman who attempts to support herself while hiding her identity and focuses on the difficulties faced by women as they strive for economic and social independence.
Samuel Butler, 1835-1902
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Samuel Butler's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
Erewhon, or, Over the Range
by
Publication Date: 1872Satirically describes a utopian society, using the civilization of 'Erewhon' ('nowhere,' scrambled) to satirize beliefs popular in England at that time. -
The Way of All Flesh
by
Publication Date: 1903A semi-autobiographical novel about the author's unkind upbringing and troubled adulthood in a Christian family.
Lewis Carroll, 1832-1898
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Lewis Carroll's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland
by
Publication Date: 1865Lewis Carroll's tale follows Alice into the upside-down, inside-out world of Wonderland where she attends the tea party of the Mad Hatter and plays croquet in the court of the Queen of Hearts. -
Through the Looking-Glass, and What Alice Found There
by
Publication Date: 1871In this sequel to Alice in Wonderland, Alice goes through the mirror to find a strange world where curious adventures await her.
Elizabeth Rundle Charles, 1828-1896
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Elizabeth Rundle Charles' life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
Chronicles of the Schönberg-Cotta Family by
Publication Date: 1862An account of family life and historical events during the Reformation in Germany. Presented in the form of diary entries made by individual members of the family.
George Tomkyns Chesney, 1830-1895
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about George Tomkyns Chesney's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
The Battle of Dorking: Reminiscences of a Volunteer by
Publication Date: 1871Considered the beginning of the invasion literature genre, Chesney illustrates the horrors of foreign threats of war and the consequent devastation.
Mary Elizabeth Coleridge, 1861-1907
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Mary Elizabeth Coleridge's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
The King with Two Faces
by
Publication Date: 1897A historical romance based on the life of Sweden's King Gustav III.
Wilkie Collins, 1824-1899
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Wilkie Collins' life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
The Woman in White
by
Publication Date: 1860Walter Hartright's mysterious midnight encounter with the woman in white draws him into a vortex of crime, poison, kidnapping, and international intrigue. -
No Name
by
Publication Date: 1862After the sudden and tragic deaths of their parents, two sisters end up penniless due to a very unfortunate legal loophole. -
The Moonstone: A Romance
by
Publication Date: 1868The Moonstone, a priceless Indian diamond which had been brought to England as spoils of war, is given to Rachel Verrinder on her eighteenth birthday. That very night, the stone is stolen. -
Man and Wife
by
Publication Date: 1870Examines the plight of a woman who, promised marriage by one man, comes to believe that she may inadvertently have gone through a form of marriage with his friend. -
Armadale
by
Publication Date: 1866Elderly Allan Armadale makes a terrible confession on his death-bed with little idea of the repercussions to come, for the secret he reveals involves the mysterious Lydia Gwilt: flame-haired temptress, bigamist, laudanum addict, and husband-poisoner.