Search this Digital Content
Each text in this resource is fully searchable if you click on the title. If you prefer to search more than one text at a time, use the search box on this page to search the full text of multiple works by the same author, by different authors, or throughout the entire collection. See the Supplementary Material for links to the complete, searchable digitized works of an individual author.
Maria Edgeworth, 1767-1849
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Maria Edgeworth's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
Castle Rackrent; an Hibernian tale by
Publication Date: 1800Thady Quirk, steward to the decaying estate of the Rackrent family, narrates a story of four generations of a dying dynasty in Castle Rackrent.
Belinda by Publication Date: 1801Contending with the perils and the varied cast of characters of the marriage market, Belinda strides resolutely toward independence.
Ennui; or, Memoirs of the Earl of Glenthorn by Publication Date: 1809Presents the entertaining confessions of the Earl of Glenthorn, a bored aristocrat.The Absentee by
Publication Date: 1812Just before coming of age, Lord Colambre finds that his mother Lady Clonbrony's attempts to buy her way into London high society are only ridiculed, while his father is in serious debt as a result.
Patronage by Publication Date: 1814Centers on the Percy family, an upstanding bunch whose good humor is undented even by the shipwreck, the house fire, and the devastating machinations of an evil relation that befall them.Ormond, a tale by
Publication Date: 1817Tells the story of Harry Ormond, a hero who rises from poverty to wealth.
George Eliot, 1819-1880
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about George Eliot's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
Scenes of Clerical Life by
Publication Date: 1857Three stories that take place in the fictional midlands town of Milby and are concerned with the effect of religious reform on clergymen and their congregations.Adam Bede by
Publication Date: 1859Carpenter Adam Bede is in love with the beautiful Hetty Sorrel, but unknown to him, he has a rival, in the local squire’s son Arthur Donnithorne.
The Mill on the Floss by Publication Date: 1860Misunderstood Maggie Tulliver is torn. Her rebellious and passionate nature demands expression, while her provincial kin and community expect self-denial
Silas Marner: The Weaver of Raveloe by Publication Date: 1861A gentle linen weaver is accused of a heinous crime. Exiling himself, he becomes a recluse, only to find redemption in his love for an abandoned child.
Romola by Publication Date: 1863Romola, the devoted daughter of a blind scholar, is married to the clever but ultimately treacherous Tito, whose duplicity in both love and politics threatens to destroy everything she values.
Middlemarch: A Study of Provincial Life by Publication Date: 1871-72This quiet drama explores ordinary lives and flawed choices that are played out in the complexly portrayed central characters.
Felix Holt: The Radical by Publication Date: 1866When the young nobleman Harold Transome returns to England from the colonies with a self-made fortune, he scandalizes the town of Treby Magna with his decision to stand for Parliament as a Radical.
Daniel Deronda by Publication Date: 1876Gwendolen Harleth gambles her happiness when she marries a sadistic aristocrat for his money.