Search this Digital Content
Each text in this resource is fully searchable if you click on the title. If you prefer to search more than one text at a time, use the search box on this page to search the full text of multiple works by the same author, by different authors, or throughout the entire collection. See the Supplementary Material for links to the complete, searchable digitized works of an individual author.
Frederic William Farrar, 1831-1903
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Frederic William Farrar's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
Eric, or, Little by Little by Publication Date: 1858Portrays life in a corrupt boys' school in nineteenth-century England as experienced by a youth who finds it hard to resist the vice he encounters there.
Eliza Fenwick, 1766-1840
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Eliza Fenwick's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
Secresy, or, The Ruin on the Rock by
Publication Date: 1795Follows the unusual friendship between Caroline Ashburn and Sibella Valmont, both of whom have been negatively impacted by the constraints society places on women.
Susan Ferrier, 1782-1854
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Susan Ferrier's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
Marriage: A Novel by Publication Date: 1818Tells the story of an English heiress, Lady Juliana, who elopes with an impoverished Scot, Henry Douglas, and has to adjust to living in a run-down castle in the Highlands.
James Anthony Froude, 1818-1894
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about James Anthony Froude's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
The Nemesis of Faith by Publication Date: 1849Depicts the causes and consequences of a young priest's crisis of faith.
John Galt, 1779-1839
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about John Galt's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
Annals of the Parish: or, the Chronicle of Dalmailing by
Publication Date: 1821Portrays the life of a typical parish minister in the late 1700s and early 1800s and the effects of the Industrial Revolution on life in rural Scotland.
The Ayrshire Legatees; or, The Pringle Family by Publication Date: 1821The lives of the humble Pringle family of Scotland are turned upside down with the news that they have been named the recipients of a relative's inheritance.The Provost by
Publication Date: 1822Details the rise to power of James Pawkie, an aspiring businessman and politician who becomes a big-time mover and shaker in the Scottish town of Irvine.
The Entail; or, the Lairds of Grippy by Publication Date: 1823Three generations of Walkinshaw lords suffer the dire consequences of valuing family property over family relationships.
Elizabeth Gaskell, 1810-1865
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Elizabeth Gaskell's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
Mary Barton: A Tale of Manchester Life by Publication Date: 1848Mary Barton, the daughter of disillusioned trade unionist, rejects her working-class lover in the hope of marrying the mill owner’s son and making a better life for herself and her father.
Ruth: A Novel by Publication Date: 1853Ruth Hilton is an orphaned young seamstress who catches the eye of a gentleman, Henry Bellingham, who is captivated by her simplicity and beauty.
North and South by Publication Date: 1854-55When her father leaves the Church in a crisis of conscience, Margaret Hale is uprooted from her comfortable home in Hampshire to move with her family to the North of England.Sylvia's Lovers by
Publication Date: 1863The Yorkshire seaside town of Monkshaven is disturbed by the arrival of the press-gang who come to seize and ship their captives abroad to fight in the Napoleonic wars.
Wives and Daughters: An Everyday Story by Publication Date: 1865Young Molly Gibson's life is overturned when her previously doting father remarries, bringing with him a manipulative stepmother and a sophisticated but troubled step-sister.
George Gissing, 1857-1903
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about George Gissing's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
The Nether World by Publication Date: 1889A highly dramatic, sometimes violent tale of man's caustic vision shaped by the bitter personal experience of poverty.
New Grub Street by Publication Date: 1891Edwin Reardon, a gifted scholar, finds some initial success in writing fiction but struggles with the pressure to produce and the compromises to his artistic ideals.
The Odd Women by Publication Date: 1893Set in a grimy, fog-ridden London, the "odd" women range from the idealistic, financially self-sufficient Mary Barfoot to the Madden sisters who struggle to subsist in low paying jobs and little chance for joy.
The Whirlpool by Publication Date: 1897Tells the story of upper-middle class late-Victorian families following the collapse of a bank.
William Godwin, 1756-1836
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about William Godwin's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
Things as They Are; or, The Adventures of Caleb Williams by Publication Date: 1794When honest young Caleb Williams comes to work as a secretary for Squire Falkland, he soon begins to suspect that his new master is hiding a secret.
St. Leon: A Tale of the Sixteenth Century by Publication Date: 1799Tells the story of an impoverished aristocrat who obtains the philosopher’s stone and the elixir of immortality.
Fleetwood: or, The New Man of Feeling by Publication Date: 1805Chronicles the impact of Fleetwood's “natural” education in the wilds of Wales and draws attention to an array of contemporary social issues.