Search this Digital Content
Each text in this resource is fully searchable if you click on the title. If you prefer to search more than one text at a time, use the search box on this page to search the full text of multiple works by the same author, by different authors, or throughout the entire collection. See the Supplementary Material for links to the complete, searchable digitized works of an individual author.
Charlotte Dacre, 1771/1772-1825
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Charlotte Dacre's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
Zofloya, or, The Moor: A Romance of the Fifteenth Century by
Publication Date: 1806Zofloya is a tale of lust, betrayal, and multiple murder set in Venice in the last days of the fifteenth century.
Charles Dickens, 1812-1870
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Charles Dickens' life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
The Posthumous Papers of the Pickwick Club by
Publication Date: 1837The Pickwick Club of London establishes a traveling society in which four members journey about England and make reports on their travels.Oliver Twist by
Publication Date: 1839Orphaned Oliver Twist is forced to practice thievery and live a life of crime in nineteenth-century London.The Life and Adventures of Nicholas Nickleby by
Publication Date: 1839After the death of the family patriarch, young Nicholas Nickleby and his family are left with no means to survive.
The Old Curiosity Shop by Publication Date: 1841Tells the tale of Nell Trent, an angelic and unfailingly virtuous girl of "nearly fourteen" and her grandfather as they navigate a world populated by villains, criminals, and ne'er-do wells.
Barnaby Rudge by Publication Date: 1841Barnaby Rudge is a story of mystery and suspense, which begins with an unsolved double murder and goes on to involve conspiracy, blackmail, abduction, and retribution.
A Christmas Carol by Publication Date: 1843Tells the tale of Ebenezer Scrooge's eerie encounters with a series of spectral visitors.The Life and Adventures of Martin Chuzzlewit by
Publication Date: 1844The greed of his family has led wealthy old Martin Chuzzlewit to become suspicious and misanthropic, leaving his grandson and namesake to make his own way in the world.Dombey and Son by
Publication Date: 1848To Paul Dombey, business is all and money can do anything. He runs his family life as he runs his firm: coldly, calculatingly, and commercially.
The Personal History of David Copperfield by Publication Date: 1850The story of a young man's adventures on his journey from an unhappy and impoverished childhood to the discovery of his vocation as a successful novelist.Bleak House by
Publication Date: 1853As the interminable case of 'Jarndyce and Jarndyce' grinds its way through the Court of Chancery, it draws together a disparate group of people.
Hard Times by Publication Date: 1854The story of Thomas Gradgrind, a "fanatic of the demonstrable fact," who raises his children, Tom and Louisa, in a stifling and arid atmosphere of grim practicality.A Tale of Two Cities by
Publication Date: 1859Unjustly imprisoned for 18 years in the Bastille, Dr. Alexandre Manette is reunited with his daughter, Lucie, and safely transported from France to England.
Little Dorrit by Publication Date: 1857When Arthur Clennam returns to England after many years abroad, he takes a kindly interest in Amy Dorrit, his mother's seamstress, and in the affairs of Amy's father, William Dorrit.
Great Expectations by Publication Date: 1861Humble, orphaned Pip, a ward of his short-tempered older sister and her husband, Joe, is apprenticed to the dirty work of the forge but dares to dream of becoming a gentleman.Our Mutual Friend by
Publication Date: 1865Centers on an inheritance and its legatees, young John Harmon, presumed drowned when a body is pulled out of the River Thames, and kindly dustman Mr. Boffin, to whom the fortune defaults.
The Mystery of Edwin Drood by Publication Date: 1870Edwin Drood is contracted to marry orphan Rosa Bud when he comes of age, but when they find that duty has gradually replaced affection, they agree to break off the engagement.
Benjamin Disraeli, 1804-1881
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Benjamin Disraeli's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
Vivian Grey by Publication Date: 1826Describes the development of a precocious young dandy, the son of a well-known man of letters with a huge private library.
Coningsby, or, The New Generation by Publication Date: 1844Follows the life and career of Henry Coningsby, the orphan grandson of a wealthy marquess, Lord Monmouth.
Sybil; or, The Two Nations by Publication Date: 1845Charles Egremont, the younger brother of Lord Marney, investigates the conditions of the lower classes in the disguise of a Mr. Franklin.
Tancred; or, The New Crusade by Publication Date: 1847Tancred goes to the Holy Land in order to seek the secrets of the “Asian mystery.”Lothair by
Publication Date: 1870Lothair, a wealthy young orphaned Scottish nobleman has been brought up in the legal guardianship of his Presbyterian uncle Lord Culloden and of a Catholic convert, Cardinal Grandison.
Arthur Conan Doyle, 1859-1930
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Arthur Conan Doyle's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
The Sign of Four by Publication Date: 1890As a dense yellow fog swirls through the streets of London, a deep melancholy has descended on Sherlock Holmes, who sits in a cocaine-induced haze at 221B Baker Street.