Search this Digital Content
Each text in this resource is fully searchable if you click on the title. If you prefer to search more than one text at a time, use the search box on this page to search the full text of multiple works by the same author, by different authors, or throughout the entire collection. See the Supplementary Material for links to the complete, searchable digitized works of an individual author.
Catherine Grace Frances Gore, 1798-1861
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Catherine Grace Frances Gore's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
Mrs. Armytage, or, Female Domination by
Publication Date: 1836The widowed mother of two children has an independent income but her children are dependent on her for support, which ensures her power over their lives.
George Grossmith (1847-1912) & Weedon Grossmith (1854-1919)
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by these authors. See the supplementary material for more information about George and Weedon Grossmith's lives and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
The Diary of a Nobody
by
Publication Date: 1892Fictitious diary that details fifteen months in the life of Mr. Charles Pooter, a middle-aged city clerk of lower middle-class status but significant social aspirations.
H. Rider Haggard, 1856-1925
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about H. Rider Haggard's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
King Solomon's Mines
by
Publication Date: 1885Presents the story of Allen Quatermain, Sir Henry Curtis, and Captain Good as they explore South Africa in search of their missing friend and a mythical treasure. -
She: A History of Adventure
by
Publication Date: 1886Tells the story of Cambridge professor Horace Holly and his ward Leo Vincey and their journey to a lost kingdom in the African interior.
Thomas Hardy, 1840-1928
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Thomas Hardy's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
Under the Greenwood Tree: A Rural Painting of the Dutch School
by
Publication Date: 1872Concerns the activities of a group of church musicians, the Mellstock parish choir, one of whom, Dick Dewy, becomes romantically entangled with a comely new school mistress named Fancy Day. -
A Pair of Blue Eyes
by
Publication Date: 1873Stephen Smith, a gifted young architect’s assistant, arrives at Endelstow in Cornwall in order to restore the old church and soon falls in love with the vicar’s daughter, Elfride Swancourt. -
Far from the Madding Crowd
by
Publication Date: 1874Bathsheba Everdene is a beautiful young woman with three men who love her, but, unfortunately for her, she chooses the wrong man to marry. -
The Return of the Native
by
Publication Date: 1878The "native" is Clym Yeobright, who comes home from a cosmopolitan life in Paris. He; his cousin Thomasin; her fiancé, Damon Wildeve; and the willful Eustacia Vye are the protagonists in a tale of doomed love, passion, alienation, and melancholy -
The Trumpet-Major: A Tale
by
Publication Date: 1880Set during the Napoleonic Wars, presents a compelling, bitter-sweet romantic love story of the rivalry of two brothers for the hand of the heroine Anne Garland. -
The Mayor of Casterbridge: The Life and Death of a Man of Character
by
Publication Date: 1886In a fit of drunken anger, Michael Henchard sells his wife and baby daughter for five guineas at a country fair. -
The Woodlanders
by
Publication Date: 1887When country-girl Grace Melbury returns home from her middle-class school she feels she has risen above her suitor, the simple woodsman Giles Winterborne. -
Tess of the d'Urbervilles: A Pure Woman Faithfully Presented
by
Publication Date: 1891When Tess Durbeyfield is driven by family poverty to claim kinship with the wealthy D'Urbervilles and seek a portion of their family fortune, meeting her 'cousin' Alec proves to be her downfall. -
Jude the Obscure
by
Publication Date: 1895Thwarted at every turn, Jude Hawley abandons his hopes, is trapped into an unwise marriage, and pursues a doomed relationship with his free-spirited cousin, Sue Bridehead. -
The Pursuit of the Well-Beloved: A Sketch of a Temperament
by
Call Number: Incomplete access to this title.Publication Date: 1892A man's obsession with searching for his ideal woman and sculpting the perfect figure of a naked Aphrodite. -
The Well Beloved: A Sketch of a Temperament
by
Publication Date: 1897Jocelyn Pierston, celebrated sculptor, tries to create an image of his ideal woman - his imaginary Well-Beloved - in stone, just as he tries to find her in the flesh.
Mary Hays, 1759–1843
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Mary Hays' life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
Memoirs of Emma Courtney by
Publication Date: 1796Questions marital arrangements and courtship rituals by depicting a woman who actively pursues the man she loves. -
The Victim of Prejudice by
Publication Date: 1799Indictment of man-made institutions that favor persons of wealth and rank. Limited online access to this book. Click the title to search the text for the frequency and page number of specific words and phrases.
James Hogg, 1770-1835
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about James Hogg's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
The Private Memoirs and Confessions of a Justified Sinner
by
Publication Date: 1824Follows a young man who, falling under the spell of a mysterious stranger who bears an uncanny likeness to himself, embarks on a career as a serial murderer.
Thomas Holcroft, 1745-1809
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Thomas Holcroft's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
Anna St. Ives: A Novel
by
Publication Date: 1792Presents utopian notions of social justice through two main characters: Anna, a member of the landed gentry who supports social reform and equality, and her beloved, the poor but honest Frank Henley. -
The Adventures of Hugh Trevor
by
Publication Date: 1794-97A satirical picaresque novel about a virtuous young man's efforts to resist the temptations and corrupting forces of society as he tries to secure employment.
Thomas Hughes, 1822-1896
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Thomas Hughes' life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
Tom Brown's School Days
by
Publication Date: 1857Tom Brown is an energetic, kind-hearted, and athletic boy and this novel tells of his life in mid-19th Century England at Rugby Public School.
Elizabeth Inchbald, 1753-1821
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Elizabeth Inchbald's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
A Simple Story by
Publication Date: 1791When Miss Milner announces her passion for her guardian, a Catholic priest, she breaks through the double barrier of his religious vocation and 18th-century British society's standards of proper womanly behavior. -
Nature and Art by
Publication Date: 1796Explores the opposition between the upbringing and actions of Henry Norwynne, an unspoiled “child of nature” who has been reared without books on an African island, and the corrupt conduct of his aristocratic older cousin, William.