Search this Digital Content
Each text in this resource is fully searchable if you click on the title. If you prefer to search more than one text at a time, use the search box on this page to search the full text of multiple works by the same author, by different authors, or throughout the entire collection. See the Supplementary Material for links to the complete, searchable digitized works of an individual author.
Richard Jefferies, 1848-1887
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Richard Jefferies' life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
Bevis: the Story of a Boy
by
Publication Date: 1882A boy and his friends make a series of water craft and use their imaginations to adventure around an English reservoir as if they were sailing the high seas to discover new lands. -
After London; Or, Wild England
by
Publication Date: 1885A sudden and unspecified catastrophe depopulates England, the countryside reverts to nature, and the few survivors return to a quasi-medieval way of life.
Charles Kingsley, 1819-1875
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Charles Kingsley's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
Alton Locke, Tailor and Poet
by
Publication Date: 1849The story of a young tailor-boy who has instincts and aspirations beyond the normal expectations of his working-class background. -
The Water-Babies: A Fairy Tale for a Land-Baby
by
Publication Date: 1863Tom, a young chimney sweep, escapes his horrendous job and his cruel boss, Grimes, when fairies plunge him into a fantastical world under the sea. -
Hereward the Wake: "Last of the English"
by
Publication Date: 1866Tells the story of Hereward, the last Anglo-Saxon holdout against the Normans.
Caroline Lamb, 1785-1828
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Caroline Lamb's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
Glenarvon
by
Publication Date: 1816Gothic novel featuring a thinly disguised depiction of the author and her former lover, Lord Byron, who is painted as a war hero who turns traitor against Irish nationalism.
Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu, 1814-1873
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
Uncle Silas; a Tale of Bartram-Haugh
by
Publication Date: 1864A young heiress is compelled to join her mysterious uncle's peculiar household, which is staffed by unfriendly servants and tainted by a long-ago scandal.
Charles Lever, 1806-1872
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Charles Lever's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
Tom Burke of "Ours"
by
Publication Date: 1844Story of an exiled Irish patriot who wins glory and preferment under the banners of France.
Matthew Gregory Lewis, 1775-1818
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Matthew Gregory Lewis' life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
The Monk: A Romance
by
Publication Date: 1796Tale of a Capuchin superior who succumbs first to temptations offered by a young girl disguised as a boy and continues his diabolical descent with increasingly depraved acts of sorcery, murder, incest, and torture.
Eliza Lynn Linton, 1822–1898
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Eliza Lynn Linton's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
The True History of Joshua Davidson, Christian and Communist
by
Publication Date: 1872Beginning as a Cornish carpenter, the Christ-like Joshua Davidson is carried to Paris and loses his life in the Communard insurrection.
Edward Bulwer-Lytton, 1803-1873
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Edward Bulwer-Lytton's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
Pelham; or The Adventures of a Gentleman
by
Publication Date: 1828Dandy and man-about-town Henry Pelham recounts his story from careless days at Eton with Reginald Glanville to his exonerating his old friend of a charge of first-degree murder by unmasking the real killers. -
Eugene Aram
by
Publication Date: 1832A brilliant but reclusive scholar lives in obscurity devoting his life to arcane research but is gradually coaxed from his solitary lifestyle by his kindly old neighbor. -
The Coming Race
by
Publication Date: 1871An underground race of advanced beings, masters of Vril energy, a strange power that can both heal and destroy, intend to leave their subterranean existence and conquer the world.
George MacDonald, 1824-1905
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about George MacDonald's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
At the Back of the North Wind
by
Publication Date: 1871The protagonist Diamond befriends the beautiful and majestic North Wind. Her powers bring change wherever she goes. -
The Princess and the Goblin
by
Publication Date: 1872Princess Irene lives in a castle in a wild and lonely mountainous region. One day she discovers a steep and winding stairway leading to a bewildering labyrinth of unused passages with closed doors and a further stairway.
Frederick Marryat, 1792-1848
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Frederick Marryat's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
Peter Simple
by
Publication Date: 1834Tells the story of a young boy, the son of a North Country parson, who is sent to sea during the Napoleonic wars to fulfill a family tradition.