Search this Digital Content
Each text in this resource is fully searchable if you click on the title. If you prefer to search more than one text at a time, use the search box on this page to search the full text of multiple works by the same author, by different authors, or throughout the entire collection. See the Supplementary Material for links to the complete, searchable digitized works of an individual author.
Charles Robert Maturin, 1782-1824
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Charles Robert Maturin's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
Melmoth the Wanderer
by
Publication Date: 1820The story of Melmoth, who has sold his soul in exchange for immortality in a satanic bargain and now preys on the helpless in their darkest moments.
George Meredith, 1828-1909
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about George Meredith's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
The Ordeal of Richard Feverel
by
Publication Date: 1859This powerful book tells of the battle of a father for the heart and soul of his son. -
Evan Harrington
by
Publication Date: 1861The tale follows Evan Harrington, the son of a tailor, who has been brought up as a gentleman abroad and fallen in love with the baronet's daughter. -
Beauchamp's Career
by
Publication Date: 1875Young, idealistic Nevil Beauchamp goes into politics as a self-proclaimed “radical,” focusing on the degeneracy of the aristocracy and the need to unite the classes. -
The Egoist
by
Publication Date: 1879Recounts the story of self-absorbed Sir Willoughby Patterne and his attempts at marriage; jilted by his first bride-to-be, he vacillates between the sentimental Laetitia Dale and the strong-willed Clara Middleton. -
Diana of the Crossways
by
Publication Date: 1885Diana, beautiful, charming, and intelligent but hotheaded, is trapped in a miserable marriage and becomes embroiled in a political as well as a social scandal. -
One of Our Conquerors
by
Publication Date: 1891The story focuses on Victor Radnor, Nataly his mistress of twenty years, and their daughter, Nesta. Radnor wishes Nataly could find her place in the world and have her reputation restored.
George Moore, 1852-1933
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about George Moore's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
Esther Waters: A Novel
by
Publication Date: 1894Recounts the struggle of a servant girl to raise her illegitimate child alone and presents a bitter indictment of Victorian society.
John Moore, 1729-1802
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about John Moore's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
Mordaunt. Sketches of Life, Characters, and Manners, in Various Countries by
Publication Date: 1800Anti-French Revolution novel in the form of 34 character sketches of famous politicians, royalty, generals, the wealthy, and the celebrity of the day.
Hannah More, 1745-1833
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Hannah More's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
Coelebs in Search of a Wife
by
Publication Date: 1809Wealthy bachelor Coelebs seeks a wife, encountering a fashionable array of eager mothers and daughters before he meets Lucilla Stanley, who is both intellectual and domestic and Coelebs' ideal partner.
Sydney Owenson, Lady Morgan, 1781?-1859
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Sydney Owenson's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
The Wild Irish Girl by
Publication Date: 1806When Horatio, the son of an English lord, is banished to his father's Irish estate as punishment for his dissipated ways, he goes off in search of adventure.
William Morris, 1834-1896
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about William Morris' life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
News from Nowhere; or, an Epoch of Rest
by
Publication Date: 1890After a meeting of the Socialist League, William Guest falls asleep and awakes to find himself in a socialist utopia, an ideal pastoral society born out of revolution.
John Henry Newman, 1801-1890
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about John Henry Newman's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
Loss and Gain
by
Publication Date: 1848Though intending to avoid the religious controversies that are being heatedly debated at Oxford, Charles Reding ends up leaving the Church of England and becoming a Catholic.
Margaret Oliphant, 1828-1897
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Margaret Oliphant's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
Salem Chapel
by
Publication Date: 1863Tells the story of Arthur Vincent, recent graduate of Homerton College, Cambridge, who has been called to pastor Salem Chapel upon the retirement of its previous minister, Mr. Tufton.
Amelia Alderson Opie, 1769-1853
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Amelia Alderson Opie's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
Adeline Mowbray; or, The Mother and Daughter by
Publication Date: 1804Adeline Mowbray puts her mother Editha’s radical theories into practice, eloping with, but not marrying, a notorious writer.
Ouida, 1839-1908
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Ouida's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
-
Under Two Flags
by
Publication Date: 1867In financial and social distress because of his own profligacy, Bertie Cecil fakes his own death and exiles himself to Algeria where he joins the Chasseurs d'Afrique, a regiment comprising soldiers from various countries.