Search this Digital Content
Each text in this resource is fully searchable if you click on the title. If you prefer to search more than one text at a time, use the search box on this page to search the full text of multiple works by the same author, by different authors, or throughout the entire collection. See the Supplementary Material for links to the complete, searchable digitized works of an individual author.
James Payn, 1830-1898
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about James Payn's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
By Proxy by Publication Date: 1878Two Englishmen, Conway and Pennicuik, are journeying together in China. Conway is decent and something of a failure while Pennicuik is rich, selfish, and ruthless.
Thomas Love Peacock, 1785-1866
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Thomas Love Peacock's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
Nightmare Abbey by Publication Date: 1818Gothic satire that follows the fortunes of Christopher Glowry, Esquire, a morose widower who lives with his only son Scythrop in his semi-dilapidated family mansion Nightmare Abbey.
Crotchet Castle by Publication Date: 1831Young, wealthy Mr. Crotchet breaks his engagement to Miss Touchandgo when her father loses all his money. He then pursues Lady Clarinda, who is only interested in him because of his money.
Jane Porter, 1776-1850
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Jane Porter's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
The Scottish Chiefs by
Publication Date: 1810Depicts the 1296-1305 rebellion of the Scots against the tyrannical King Edward, a rebellion led by the gallant Sir William Wallace.
Ann Radcliffe, 1764-1823
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Ann Radcliffe's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
A Sicilian Romance by Publication Date: 1790Concerns the fallen nobility of the Sicilian house of Mazzini as related by a tourist who learns of their turbulent history from a monk he meets at the ruins of their once-magnificent castle.
The Romance of the Forest by Publication Date: 1791After being abandoned by the man she believes to be her father, Adeline St. Pierre finds precarious refuge with Pierre de la Motte and his family.
The Mysteries of Udolpho by Publication Date: 1794Tells the story of orphan Emily St. Aubert, who finds herself separated from the man she loves and confined within the medieval castle of her aunt's new husband, Montoni.
The Italian; or, The Confessional of the Black Penitents; A Romance by Publication Date: 1797Ellena Rosalba and Vincentio di Vivaldi first meet in Naples, but their love is ill-omened. Leagued against them are the proud and ambitious Marchese di Vivaldi and her confessor the sinister Father Schedoni.
Charles Reade, 1814-1884
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Charles Reade's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
The Cloister and the Hearth by Publication Date: 1861Gerard Eliason, a young Dutch artist, abandons thought of the priesthood when he falls in love with Margaret Brandt. Gerard’s father opposes their engagement and arranges to have his son imprisoned.
Hard Cash; A Matter-of-Fact Romance by Publication Date: 1863Alfred Hardie accuses his father of misappropriating £14,000 and driving his future father-in-law to penury and madness. To insure his silence, Alfred is consigned by his father to a private insane asylum.
Mary Robinson, 1757?-1800
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Mary Robinson's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
Walsingham: or, The Pupil of Nature, A Domestic Story by
Call Number: Complete text not available online.Publication Date: 1797Follows the lives of Walsingham Ainsforth and his cousin, Sir Sidney Aubrey, a girl passed off as a son by her mother so that she will become the family heir.
E.Œ. Somerville, 1858-1949 & Martin Ross, 1862-1915
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by these authors. See the supplementary material for more information about Somerville and Ross's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
The Real Charlotte by Publication Date: 1894The story concerns Francie Fitzpatrick, a young woman of impoverished semi-gentility and cousin of Charlotte Mullen, who received an inheritance that was partly to go to Francie.
William Clark Russell, 1844-1911
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about William Clark Russell's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
The Wreck of the Grosvenor by Publication Date: 1877Told by the second mate of the ship Grosvenor, the story relates the causes of dissatisfaction among the crew and the harsh treatment of the men by a brutal and inhuman captain and chief mate.
George Augustus Sala, 1828-1895
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about George Augustus Sala's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
The Seven Sons of Mammon by Publication Date: 1862Sir Jasper Goldthorpe, a man of modest beginnings, is now a very rich man, and the story traces his slow destruction by the evil, scheming seductress Florence Armytage.