Search this Digital Content
Each text in this resource is fully searchable if you click on the title. If you prefer to search more than one text at a time, use the search box on this page to search the full text of multiple works by the same author, by different authors, or throughout the entire collection. See the Supplementary Material for links to the complete, searchable digitized works of an individual author.
Olive Schreiner, 1855-1920
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Olive Schreiner's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
The Story of an African Farm by Publication Date: 1883Consists of loosely narrated episodes detailing the lives of three characters, as children then as adults, who live on a South African farm and symbolize differing attitudes to gender roles and spirituality.
Walter Scott, 1771-1832
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Walter Scott's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
Waverley; or, 'Tis Sixty Years Since by Publication Date: 1814Tells the story of Edward Waverley, a naïve young man who is posted to Scotland with his regiment.Guy Mannering; or, The Astrologer by
Publication Date: 1815Tells the story of Harry Bertram, the son of the Laird of Ellangowan, who is kidnapped at the age of five by smugglers after witnessing the murder of a customs officer.
The Antiquary by Publication Date: 1816A mysterious young man calling himself 'Lovel' travels idly but fatefully toward the Scottish seaside town of Fairport.
The Black Dwarf by Publication Date: 1816Sir Edward Mauley, a hermit suspected of being in league with the Devil, becomes embroiled in a complex tale of love, revenge, betrayal, Jacobite schemes, and a threatened forced marriage.
Old Mortality by Publication Date: 1816Henry Morton joins the rebels in order to fight Scotland's royalist oppressors, little as he shares the Covenanters' extreme religious beliefs.
Rob Roy by Publication Date: 1817Francis Osbaldistone discovers that his vicious and scheming cousin Rashleigh has designs on his father's business and his beloved Diana Vernon so turns in desperation to Rob Roy for help.
The Heart of Mid-Lothian by Publication Date: 1818Jeanie Deans, a dairymaid, decides to walk to London to gain an audience with the Queen in order to get a reprieve for her sister, who is to be executed for infanticide.
The Bride of Lammermoor by Publication Date: 1819The plans of Edgar, Master of Ravenswood to regain his ancient family estate from the corrupt Lord Keeper of the Great Seal of Scotland are frustrated by legal, political, and personal complexities.
A Legend of Montrose by Publication Date: 1819Allan M'Aulay, a member of Montrose's army, has sworn vengeance on the savage clan of Ranald MacEagh, known as the Children of the Mist, who have murdered his uncle and mistreated his mother.
Ivanhoe by Publication Date: 1820Banished from England for seeking to marry against his father's wishes, Ivanhoe joins Richard the Lion Heart on a crusade in the Holy Land, returning to England to reunite with the beautiful but forbidden lady Rowena.
Kenilworth by Publication Date: 1821Robert Dudley, Earl of Leicester, is favoured above all the noblemen of England. It is rumoured that the Queen may choose him for her husband, but Leicester has secretly married the beautiful Amy Robsart.
Quentin Durward by Publication Date: 1823The story concerns a Scottish archer in the service of the French King Louis XI. The plot centers on the rivalry between Louis XI of France and Charles the Bold, Duke of Burgundy.
Redgauntlet by Publication Date: 1824Redgauntlet kidnaps his young nephew Darsie Latimer (whose real name is Sir Arthur Darsie Redgauntlet), hoping that his prestige as the head of the house will aid the Jacobite cause.
St. Ronan's Well by Publication Date: 1824Concerns the rivalry of two men: Valentine Bulmer, the Earl of Etherington, and his half-brother Francis Tyrrel. Both wish to marry Miss Clara Mowbray, who is the sister of John, the laird of Saint Ronan’s.
Anna Sewell, 1820-1878
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Anna Sewell's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
Black Beauty by Publication Date: 1877Autobiographical memoir told by the horse named Black Beauty—beginning with his carefree days as a colt on an English farm, to his difficult life pulling cabs in London, to his happy retirement in the country.
Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley, 1797-1851
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
Frankenstein; or, The Modern Prometheus by Publication Date: 1818A monster assembled by a scientist from parts of dead bodies develops a mind of his own as he learns to loathe himself and hate his creator.
Valperga; or, The Life and Adventures of Castruccio, Prince of Lucca by Publication Date: 1823Historic novel about the adventures of Castruccio Castracani, a 14th-century Italian prince, captain, and tyrant.
The Last Man by Publication Date: 1826Set in the late twenty-first century, the novel unfolds a sombre and pessimistic vision of mankind confronting inevitable destruction.
The Fortunes of Perkin Warbeck: A Romance by Publication Date: 1830Fictionalized exploits of Perkin Warbeck, a pretender to the throne of King Henry VII who claimed to be Richard, Duke of York, the second son of King Edward IV.
Frankenstein, or, The Modern Prometheus: revised, corrected, and illustrated with a new introduction, by the author by Publication Date: 1831Includes Mary Shelley's "account of the origin of the story."
Lodore by Publication Date: 1835Follows the fortunes of the wife and daughter of Lord Lodore, who is killed in a duel and leaves a trail of legal, financial, and familial obstacles for the heroines to negotiate.
Falkner: A Novel by Publication Date: 1837As a six-year-old orphan, Elizabeth Raby prevents Rupert Falkner from committing suicide; Falkner then adopts her and brings her up to be a model of virtue.
Percy Bysshe Shelley, 1792-1822
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Percy Bysshe Shelley's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
Zastrozzi: A Romance by Publication Date: 1810Tells tells the story of an amoral and charismatic criminal mastermind and master sword fighter who cuts a swath of destruction across Europe in the 19th century.St. Irvyne; or, The Rosicrucian by
Publication Date: 1811Wolfstein, a solitary wanderer, encounters Ginotti, an alchemist of the Rosicrucian or Rose Cross Order who seeks to impart the secret of immortality.
Charlotte Turner Smith, 1749-1806
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by this author. See the supplementary material for more information about Charlotte Turner Smith's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
Emmeline: The Orphan of the Castle by Publication Date: 1788Orphaned Emmeline is supported by her father's brother, Lord Montreville, at Mowbray Castle, but since Emmeline is illegitimate, Lord Montreville claims Mowbray Castle for himself and his family.
The Old Manor House by Publication Date: 1793A “property romance,” the love story of Orlando and Monimia revolves around the Manor House as inheritable property.
E.Œ. Somerville, 1858-1949 & Martin Ross, 1862-1915
Below is a limited selection of fully searchable titles by these authors. See the supplementary material for more information about Somerville and Ross's life and work, including biography and context, literary criticism, and searchable online texts.
The Real Charlotte by Publication Date: 1894The story concerns Francie Fitzpatrick, a young woman of impoverished semi-gentility and cousin of Charlotte Mullen, who received an inheritance that was partly to go to Francie.