Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Resources for alternatives to the use of live vertebrates in biomedical research and testing. Includes citations relevant to alternatives to the use of live vertebrates in biomedical research and testing.
AltWeb: Alternatives to Animal Testing (Johns Hopkins)
AltWeb serves as a gateway to alternatives news, information and resources. AltWeb's goals are to assist scientists and others seeking to conduct a search for alternatives methods; to serve as a central reference point for alternatives information; to support the creation and maintenance of new alternative resources; to promote the use of alternatives resources; to facilitate communication and collaboration among members of the alternatives community.
NIH Genetic & Genomic Resources for Model Organisms
Information about national and international activities and major resources that are being developed to facilitate biomedical research using mammalian, non-mammalian and other models.
NORINA (A Norwegian Inventory of Alternatives) is an English-language database containing information on over 3,500 audiovisual aids that may be used as alternatives or supplements to the use of animals in teaching and training, including dissection alternatives, at all levels from Junior School to University. The information in the database has been collected from 1991 onwards.
Database on alternatives to animal experiments on the Internet. The ZEBET database is mainly designed to support the examination of the imperative nature of animal experiments by providing information on possible alternative methods. To this end, the ZEBET database offers validated information on alternative methods.
Animal Reporting Tools
Alzheimer’s Preclinical Efficacy Database (AlzPED) provides a scorecard for studies demonstrating whether key experiment elements have been reported. AlzPED allows scientists quick access to specific details within a study. Funders can evaluate studies that have been conducted and identify gaps where research needs to be done. AlzPED includes published and unpublished studies that are proportionally representative to the overall body of AD animal model treatment studies.
Menagerie of Reporting guidelines Involving Animals (MERIDIAN) includes ARRIVE, PRISMA, REFLECT, STROBE-Vet and other animal reporting tools and guidelines. It goes a step behind typical checklists, prompting one to highlight the specific text for each item and then exporting a customized PDF checklist.