*Tufts does not subscribe to all the databases shown on the lists for import filters and connection files
See also this guide's page on Importing References into EndNote
The only way to import references from a Word document or any other text file is if the contents can be "tagged" for standard bibliographic fields such as author, title, journal, and date. You then must save the file as a text file. For details, see the EndNote Manual section on Creating Structured Text Files that EndNote Can Import. For references which can be found in online catalogs or databases, importing references from those sources may be less time-consuming while offering the advantage of providing additional data for your records. Other options are to copy and paste data from the original document into EndNote records. Several attempts have been made to try to import untagged references from text documents into bibliographic databases. Examples include cb2Bib, the CrossRef Simple Text Query, the HubMed Citation Finder, and Makino Takaki's Conversion tool for BiBTex.
The more recent versions of EndNote offer the ability to import basic citation information from a PDF that has been downloaded to your computer. This feature allows you to convert existing collections of PDF files into EndNote references with minimal typing and copying by extracting Digital Object identifiers (DOI) from PDF files. This feature only works with PDFs which contain a valid DOI and can link to a website which contains the citation information in a compatible format. For details, see the EndNote Manual's section on Importing PDF Files to Create New References.
Certain of our literature databases are comprised of multiple index files from many sources. One example is CSA (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts), now part of ProQuest, which offers AGRICOLA, ERIC, Econlit, and PsycInfo, among many others. Another is Thomson's ISI Web of Knowledge, which includes Science Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Derwents, and MEDLINE. Each index file uses a different database structure; consequently, EndNote provides separate filters for each one in order to enable you to import the maximum number of data fields possible. If you have collected references from multiple databases, you can experiment with using any of the filters provided by the same vendor but you will lose some of the metadata beyond standard fields such as author, document title, source title, or publication date.
EndNote offers three methods. For more information, review EndNote's online help or manuals. For subscription-based journal collections, access depends on whether Tufts subscribes to the journal.
See also this guide's page on Creating Bibliographies in EndNote
Two options:
In addition to presenting a set of references in a specific citation output style, an annotated bibliography also includes additional information. This usually is a commentary by the person producing a bibliography but it could also contain abstracts for each reference or research notes.
Two options:
Several reasons can account for this:
For titles of articles and journals and for author names, citation styles provide general rules about the casing. The EndNote Output filters apply either title casing or sentence casing, or enables the citation record's approach determine the casing. These approaches can be controlled by selecting an import filter in the Edit Menu > Output Styles and then editing the Title Capitalization options. The filters cannot, however, make exceptions to these rules for specific words or types of words such as proper nouns. For that, use the Edit Menu > Preferences > Change Case feature; here you can specify all words which case must remain as entered in the records (these rules will be applied to all output styles).
The presence of peculiar characters in EndNote references usually is caused by a conflict with character sets. The newest versions of EndNote default to Unicode (the universal character set) but some databases may use other encoding such as ANSI or ISO character sets that only contain a character subset, usually to accommodate non-Roman alphabets. One workaround is to check the encoding that is used in the database you are trying to import records from (this usually is a command in your browser's pull-down menu). Take note if it is not Unicode (UTF-8) compliant. Then experiment with importing the records using the character encoding used in the source database. You can specify the encoding in the EndNote File Menu > Import screen, in the option for Text Translation.
Note: Records in the Tufts Library Catalog which contain specific character sets, such as those used by Slavic languages, seem to cause generate character translation errors regardless of the Text Translation filter used. Once imported into EndNote, these records need to be modified on a case-by-case basis or by using (carefully) using the EndNote Change Text command.
Several reasons can account for this:
If none of the above methods work, contact EndNote Technical Support
You can generate a composite bibliography if you use Word's Master Document feature, which requires embedding multiple documents as Sub-documents within a Master document. For instructions, see the section within the EndNote manual on Creating a Bibliography from Multiple Documents. Alternatively, once your document is essentially complete, you can combine all the Word files into a single and then generate the bibliographies and citations from that.
Yes. First, you need to use the Word Insert Section command to specify the start of each chapter. Second, you need to ensure that the EndNote filter for your selected output style (APA, MLA, etc.) knows to generate multiple bibliographies. Some styles do this automatically. Others require that you modify the existing output filter to do this. For instructions, see the section within the EndNote manual on Creating Multiple Bibliographies in a Single Document.
EndNote Online (previously known as EndNote Web) is a subscription-based, web-based offspring of EndNote. It is less powerful than EndNote, offering fewer customization options, utilities, and functions, and only supports 10,000 records whereas EndNote libraries can be unlimited in size (a comparison of the two products is available on the EndNote website). It is handy for situations where EndNote users cannot easily access their EndNote installation (for example when traveling) and offers strong integration with ISI Web of Science and Researcher ID (which, like EndNote, are provided by Thomson Reuters). It also can be used as a collaboration tool. If you are interested in a web-based citation manager, you may also want to consider Zotero or Mendeley (see our comparative matrix).
Licensed users of EndNote may set up an EndNote Online account for free. EndNote Online is also available for current Tufts students, faculty, and staff who can access Web of Science; online accounts are created by clicking the EndNote link in the top of the Web of Science screen.