Social Science Data and Statistics Resources

Contains data for EU-27, the euro area, EU Member States, candidate countries and other OECD countries. Also see Eurostat

Economic Indicators and reports for Asia Pacific.

Over 75 variables for more than 150 countries including ratings and data from the International Country Risk Guide and Coplin O'Leary PRS Forecast. Updated monthly with archives back to 1984. Note: CountryData offers spreadsheet data only. For PRS text and analysis, see International Country Risk Guide and Political Risk Services, both found in LexisNexis.

Economist Intelligence Unit is a suite of global research services that includes 9 products: City Data, Country Data, Country Finance, Country Forecast, Country Profiles,and Country Risk Service.

Global Insight provides comprehensive economic, financial, and political coverage of countries, regions, and industries. The information and analysis covers over 200 countries and spans more than 170 industries using a unique combination of expertise, models, data, and software within a common analytical framework to support planning and decision making.

Periodicals, books, and analytical papers from IMF, plus links to statistical portals. Archival coverage stretches back to 1996 for many publications.

See CURRENT data at a glance. If you want to see and create older reports use the Build Query option above.

Annual entries begin in 1945; quarterly and monthly entries begin in 1945. Balance of payments, interest and exchange rates, trade and banking statistics; tables for every country.

Economic and business news from more than 500 sources for emerging markets in Asia, Latin America, Eastern Europe, and the Middle East-North Africa.

Data and reports from Organization for Economic Co-operation & Development

The key tables by country statistical profiles include a wide range of indicators on economy, education, energy, environment, foreign aid, health, information and communication, labour, migration, R&D, trade and society. Historical data refer to the latest eight time periods.
Links to interactive databases.

Euromonitor's Passport, is a comprehensive market research database incorporating detailed statistics and research analysis of global markets and consumers. Its emphasis is on consumer-related industries across more than 200 countries and regions.

Open data from the UK

The World Bank provides free and open access to a comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe, together with other datasets cited in the data catalog. Widely used datasets and features:
Development Indicators
Global Development Finance
DataBank Tool (visualizations)

Researchers at the Bank for International Settlements (DIP 2020.08.12) have compiled a dataset of central banks’ policy responses to the coronavirus pandemic. It covers more than 900 announcements by 39 central banks, grouped by monetary tool: interest rates, reserve policies, lending operations, foreign exchange, and asset purchases. The researchers also “provide further details relevant to each type of tool, such as the maturity and whether the instrument was new to the central bank or not.”

The data section links to a comprehensive guide to data and statistics for macro data, international data, finance data as well as supplemental datasets from key academic economic journals, where available.

Access demographic and economic data from the U.S. Census Bureau, from 2000 forward, including the Decennial Census, the American Community Survey, and the Economic Census. This site replaces American Factfinder.

"...provide[s] information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics. The survey data are collected for the Bureau of Labor Statistics by the U.S. Census Bureau."

brings together key reports and data sets divided into areas such as Dynamic Data and Maps from the New York Fed, Tools and Indicators from the New York Fed, and Key Data from the New York Fed. The reports here include quarterly trends for consolidated U.S. banking organizations, the indexes of coincident economic indicators, and the Empire Manufacturing Survey.

A database of more than 83,000 economic time series from 57 sources maintained by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.

Historic federal reserve data Archival Federal Reserve Economic Data (ALFRED)

Microdata of popular census products including the decennial census and American Community Survey. Current Population Surveys also available. Requires registration

Maintains up to date links to economic data releases from many sources.

As with their releases, The National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) maintains a publicly available repository of economic, demographic, and enterprise data.

You can create and download census data from all censuses. Also available is the 1990 census, which is no longer available at American Factfinder. Labor force, income and business data available.

The standard summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Serves as a convenient volume for statistical reference as a guide to other statistical publications and sources. Also available through the library's ProQuest Statistical Abstract subscription.

Available in print: Tisch Book Stacks: HA 202 .A1

"The Survey of Consumer Finances (SCF) is normally a triennial cross-sectional survey of U.S. families. The survey data include information on families’ balance sheets, pensions, income, and demographic characteristics"

The economic census profiles U.S national and local economies every 5 years.

National and regional GDP data

Detailed records of government procurement & spending. Can search by various geographies (including congressional district), by agency, by recipient, by type of program, and many others. Get summary data for agency expenditures by congressional district over time by clicking on the Trends tab. For detailed transactions, one can only search by one congressional district at a time; however, under the advanced search one can search by state and then there is an option to export the full detailed list of transactions to CSV, which includes details on the congressional district for both the recipient and place of performance.

You can create and download census data from all censuses. Also available is the 1990 census, which is no longer available at American Factfinder. Labor force, income and business data available.

The Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER®) is designed to preserve and provide access to economic and banking data and policy documents. See blue i for list of specific resources.

Annual entries begin in 1945; quarterly and monthly entries begin in 1945. Balance of payments, interest and exchange rates, trade and banking statistics; tables for every country.

"International historical statistics; 1750-2010 3-volume set is the latest edition of the most authoritative collection of statistics available. Updated to 2010 wherever possible, it provides key economic and social indicators for the last 260 years, serving as an essential reference source."

Print: Ref HA175 .M55 2003

Print: Ref HA 1107 .M5 2003

Print: Ref HA 4675 .M552 2003

Part of the Web of Knowledge/Science suite of databases, citations of, with direct links for, data sets which are cited in journal articles and other sources.
Be sure to deselect Science under the Citation Databases option!