Social Science Data and Statistics Resources

Do you use Excel for simple lists, but get confused and frustrated when it comes to actually doing something useful with all that data? Stop tearing your hair out: Head First Excel helps you painlessly move from spreadsheet dabbler to savvy user. Whether you're completely new to Excel or an experienced user looking to make the program work better for you, this book will help you incorporate Excel into every aspect of your workflow, from a scratch pad for data-based brainstorming to exploratory analysis with PivotTables, optimizing outcomes with Goal Seek, and presenting your conclusions with sophisticated data visualizations. Organize and clearly present information in a spreadsheet Make calculations across a number of worksheets Change your point of view with sorting, zooming, and filtering Manipulate numerical data to extract and use just what you need Leverage Excel as a grid-based layout program Write formulas for optimal functionality Nest formulas for more complex operations Create sophisticated data visualizations with charts and graphs Use Goal Seek to optimize possible outcomes based on different assumptions Create summaries from large data sets for exploratory data analysis with PivotTables We think your time is too valuable to waste struggling with new concepts. Using the latest research in cognitive science and learning theory to craft a multi-sensory learning experience, Head First Excel uses a visually rich format designed for the way your brain works, rather than a text-heavy approach that will put you to sleep.

Advanced techniques for Excel power users Crunch and analyze Excel data the way the professionals do with this clean, uncluttered, visual guide to advanced Excel techniques. Using numerous screenshots and easy-to-follow numbered steps, this book clearly shows you how to perform professional-level modeling, charting, data access, data slicing, and other functions. Youll find super techniques for getting the most out of Excels statistical and financial functions, Excel PivotTables and PivotCharts, Excel Solver, and more. * Provides a clear look at power-using Excel, the worlds leading spreadsheet application from Microsoft, and part of the new Microsoft Office 2010 suite * Expands your Excel knowledge and helps you use Excel data more efficiently * Demonstrates how to retrieve data from databases;; cut, slice, and pivot data using PivotTables; model data and chart data; and use advanced formulas * Explores all features and functions in friendly, two-color pages packed with screenshots, numbered steps, and other visual graphics that clearly show you how to accomplish tasks * Includes practical examples, tips, and advice to help you get the most out of Excels features and functions Learn Excel at the highest levels with this practical guide.

A comprehensive reference to the newest version of the world's most popular spreadsheet application: Excel 2010 John Walkenbach's name is synonymous with excellence in computer books that decipher complex technical topics. Known as "Mr. Spreadsheet," Walkenbach shows you how to maximize the power of all the new features of Excel 2010. An authoritative reference, this perennial bestseller proves itself indispensable no matter your level of skill, from Excel beginners and intermediate users to power users and potential power users everywhere. Fully updated for the new release, this latest edition provides comprehensive, soup-to-nuts coverage, delivering over 900 pages of Excel tips, tricks, and techniques you won't find anywhere else. Excel guru and bestselling author John Walkenbach ("Mr. Spreadsheet") guides you through every aspect of Excel Delivers essential coverage of all the newest features of Excel 2010 Presents material in a clear, concise, logical format that is ideal for all levels of Excel experience Includes a CD that contains all the templates and worksheets used in the book plus John Walkenbach's award-winning Power Utility Pak Excel 2010 Bible serves as an excellent resource on all things Excel! Note: CD-ROM/DVD and other supplementary materials are not included as part of eBook file.