Social Science Data and Statistics Resources

Contains popular vote by state for the 2012 general election.

Oldest continuous series of survey data investigating electoral behavior and attitudes in the United States (since 1948). The focus of the survey includes voter perceptions of the major political parties, the candidates, national and international issues, and of the importance of the election. Also explored are voter expectations about the outcome of the election, degree of voter interest in politics, political affiliation and voting history, as well as participation in the electoral process. ANES interviews are conducted before and after presidential elections and after national congressional elections. Post-election interviews include questions on actual voting behavior and voter reflections about the election outcome.

Click on the PDF icon above to read a guide on setting up ANES data in Stata and SPSS

This study contains campaign finance data for candidates in local elections held from 1989 to 2007 in the following cities: New York City (NY), Los Angeles (CA), Chicago (IL), San Francisco (CA), Seattle (WA), Miami (FL), Tampa (FL), Lexington (KY), Louisville (KY), Sacramento (CA), and Long Beach (CA). Data were also collected for the counties Hillsborough County/Tampa (FL) and Miami-Dade (FL). The study includes data on funds raised and spent, as well as candidate data and election returns, and both mayoral and city council races. Information was also collected on the size of the population of the candidates jurisdiction, the amount of political contributions and committee expenditures, whether the election was held in a publicly-funded city, and the outcome of the election. Demographic variables include candidate's sex, race, political party, education, and occupation.

This site presents data and analysis of women's voting behavior, including statistics on turnout and the gender gap in voting.

Collaborative program of cross-national research among election studies conducted in over fifty states. The CSES is composed of three tightly linked parts: First, a common module of public opinion survey questions is included in each participant country's post-election study. These "micro" level data include vote choice, candidate and party evaluations, current and retrospective economic evaluations, evaluation of the electoral system itself, in addition to standardized socio-demographic measures. Second, district level data are reported for each respondent, including electoral returns, turnout, and the number of candidates. Finally, system or "macro" level data report aggregate electoral returns, electoral rules and formulas, and regime characteristics.

The Congressional Bills Project is a relational database of over 400,000 public and private bills introduced in the U.S. House and Senate since 1947. Unit of analysis is at the level of congress person and their vote. Many useful variables such as gender already coded for. Goes back to 80th congress

Repository of detailed election results for candidate/party, total votes cast, number of eligible voters at the constituency level for lower house legislative elections from around the world. The dataset and documentation currently include 1,098 elections from 73 countries

Provides information on the results of both national and subnational elections around the world. These data are presented at two levels of analysis, allowing users to quickly identify the results of elections within a country as a whole or within particular constituencies or districts of a country.

All parties are included in the database regardless of the number of votes that they won. The data are based on countries' official election results and have been amassed from various government institutions.

Gathers information on the careers and political perspectives of the delegates to the Democratic and Republican National Conventions. It furnishes data on their life histories, political participation and affiliations, and attitudes towards certain issues.

Published by Transparency International. The CPI ranks countries based on corruption as defined as "the misuse of public power for private benefit."

Collection of crossnational measures of political democracy containing over 800 variables for most of the world's independent countries. Political, social, and economic measures are available in the data file, and topics include adult suffrage, civil liberties, political rights, the openness, fairness, and competitiveness of the electoral process, executive and legislative selection and effectiveness, political party legitimacy, political participation, limitations on the executive branch of the government, level of democratization, economic openness, constitutional development, government legitimacy, and the outlook for freedom.

Large samples collected by the census available for research on voter registration and turnout (hosted jointly by ICPSR and the Resource Center for Minority Data)

IPUMS CPS harmonizes microdata from the monthly U.S. labor force survey, the Current Population Survey (CPS), covering the period 1962 to the present. Data include demographic information, rich employment data, program participation and supplemental data on topics such as fertility, tobacco use, volunteer activities, voter registration, computer and internet use, food security, and more.

Focuses on elections and election monitoring throughout the world. Dataset 1, Data on International Election Monitoring (DIEM), codes the assessement and activities of international election monitoring organizations to national-level legislative and presidential elections in 108 countries from 1980-2004. Dataset 2, Quality of Elections Data (QED), codes the quality of national-level legislative and presidential elections in 172 countries from 1978 to 2004. Dataset 3, Supplementary Election Data, includes supplementary information on all direct presidential and legislative elections in 182 countries from 1975-2004.

Customized for Tufts. Election Data in Excel files with geographies at the state, county, town, and congressional district level.

Precinct level results for the 2008 elections by state in tabular format. Data available as GIS files as well. Also see the Stanford Public Mapping Project (http://www.publicmapping.org/)

International coverage with results available for download in CSV format for 21 major (mostly European) countries.

The data sets available at this website make it possible to compare and contrast election results across countries and regions and conduct comparisons over time. As most of the data sets are aggregated to correspond with the EUs NUTS(Nomenclature of Territorial Units for Statistics ) definition, it facilitates studies that incorporate additional statistical measures as demography, labour market, etc.

Data are collected from national election authorities, national statistical agencies and other official sources.

Detailed data on campaign contributions and expenditures by candidates, parties, and committees.

This data collection measures the political attitudes and behaviors of three specific Latino groups in the United States: Mexican, Puerto Rican, and Cuban. A geographic Latino population coverage rate of at least 85 percent was desired for this study. Variables cover the respondent's family history, organizational memberships, political participation, voting practices, preferences on policy issues, views toward political parties and political candidates/leaders, political behavior, sources of political information such as the media, feelings about political trust and efficacy, perceptions of the relationship between government and Latino groups, and degree of concern about international issues and social problems. Demographic variables include sex, age, ethnicity, marital status, education, education of parents and spouse, parental status, religious preference, employment status, occupation, home ownership, military service, country of origin, and citizenship.

Contains 8,634 completed interviews (unweighted) of self-identified Latino/Hispanic residents of the United States. Interviewing began on November 17, 2005, and continued through August 4, 2006. The survey instrument contained approximately 165 distinct items ranging from demographic descriptions to political attitudes and policy preferences, as well as a variety of social indicators and experiences.

Static research collection of district level election results for approximately 350 national legislative elections in 26 countries that was maintained through 2003.

Statistics for total registered voters, Democrats and Republicans by year since 1948. Compiled by the secretary of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

Large-scale academic survey of the political attitudes and voting behavior of Black Americans. Conducted in 1984, 1988, and 1996. The 1984 and 1988 surveys were longitudinal in nature.

Provides detailed information on all election events from 1960-2006. To be included, elections must be for a national executive figure, such as a president, or for a national legislative body, such as a parliament, legislature, constituent assembly, or other directly elected representative bodies. In order for an election to be included, voters must directly elect the person or persons appearing on the ballot to the national post in question.

Comparative data about individuals' political attitudes, beliefs, aspirations, and behaviors at the beginning of the 21st century. Explored the nature of political involvement and participation among individuals from different racial and ethnic groups. Included questions about voting preferences, party affiliation, organizational membership, immigration, racial consciousness, acculturation, and views of government policies.

Campaign contribution data

Contains a set of index numbers that can be used as measures of party strength at the polls and changes in party strength.

Searchable database of Massachusetts historical election information, from the secretary of the Commonwealths biannual report containing statistics on voter registration, turnout and election results.

Annual Polity scores have been plotted for each of the 167 countries currently covered by the Polity IV data series for the period 1946-2013 (trend graphs are also included with the Polity IV 2010 Country Reports). This version of the Polity Country Trend graphs display periods of "factionalism" and important Polity change events, including autocratic backsliding, executive auto-coup or autogolpe, revolution, collapse of central authority (state failure), and successful military coups.

Compiled by CQ Press. Browse data tables and maps by policy or politicians. Export to excel feature.

Maintained by Dr. Michael McDonald at George Mason University. Contains data tables for voter turnout statistics for general and primary elections going back to 2000.

Includes the Inaugural Addresses of United States Presidents from George Washington in 1789 to Barack Obama in 2009.

Information on women's inclusion in parliamentary bodies in over 150 countries from 1945 to 2003. Allows for extensive, large-scale, cross-national investigation of the factors that explain women's attainment of political power over time and provides educators with comprehensive international and historical information on women in a variety of political positions. Information is provided on female suffrage, the first female member of parliament, yearly percentages of women in parliaments, when women reached important representational milestones, such as 10 %, 20 %, and 30 % of a legislature, and when women achieved highly-visible political positions, such as prime minister, president, or head of parliament.

Includes states’ proposed and approved maps. A project of the Fair Representation in Redistricting Initiative