Social Science Data and Statistics Resources

Interactive visualization tool that utilizes the decennial censuses and American Community Survey data.

Collected by the U.S Census Bureau. Comprises 2 types of data collections: a national survey of housing units, and surveys of housing units in selected metropolitan areas. The interviews cover core questions that are repeated each year, and an additional set of questions on recurring or one-time supplemental topics. The national data were collected annually through 1981 and have been collected every 2 years since that time. The metropolitan-area data are collected on a continuous basis and are reported annually.

Provides data on the number of new housing units authorized by building permits. Data are available monthly, year- to- date, and annually at the national, state, and selected metropolitan area levels. The data are from the Building Permits Survey through the U.S Census.

The Current Population Survey (CPS), sponsored jointly by the U.S. Census Bureau and the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), is the primary source of labor force statistics for the population of the United States. The CPS is the source of numerous high-profile economic statistics, including the national unemployment rate, and provides data on a wide range of issues relating to employment and earnings. The CPS also collects extensive demographic data that complement and enhance our understanding of labor market conditions in the nation overall, among many different population groups, in the states and in substate areas.

Primarily used to determine payment standard amounts for the Housing Choice Voucher program, to determine initial renewal rents for some expiring project-based Section 8 contracts, to determine initial rents for housing assistance payment (HAP) contracts in the Moderate Rehabilitation Single Room Occupancy program (Mod Rehab), and to serve as a rent ceiling in the HOME rental assistance program. The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) annually estimates FMRs for 530 metropolitan areas and 2,045 non-metropolitan county FMR areas

Includes state, city, regional housing price indexing data in quarterly and monthly increments; also provides a calculator and historical data; and downloadable data.

Set of files derived from the 1985 and later national American Housing Survey (AHS) and the 2002 and later Metro AHS. Categorizes housing units by affordability and households by income, with respect to the Adjusted Median Income, Fair Market Rent (FMR), and poverty income. It also includes housing cost burden for owner and renter households. These files have been the basis for the worst case needs tables since 2001.

Provides current information on the rental and homeowner vacancy rates, and characteristics of units available for occupancy. These data are used extensively by public and private sector organizations to evaluate the need for new housing programs and initiatives. In addition, the rental vacancy rate is a component of the index of leading economic indicators and is used by the Federal Government and economic forecasters to gauge the current economic climate.

Rental and homeowner vacancy rates and homeownership rates are available for the U.S., regions, states, and for the 75 largest Metropolitan Statistical Areas. Data for all geographies are available both quarterly and annually. Homeownership rates are also tabulated by age of householder, by family status and by race/ethnicity of householder and by median family income.

Consists of more than fifty high-precision samples of the American population drawn from fifteen federal censuses and from the American Community Surveys of 2000-2011.

Longitudinal survey (begins in 1968) of US individuals and the families in which they reside. Can be used for cross-sectional, longitudinal, and intergenerational analysis and for studying both individuals and families.Information about home value and mortgage debt; occasional information about saving behavior and wealth. Approximately 18,000 individuals and 5,000 families.

Longitudinal U. S. government survey of the financial status of American households conducted since 1983 (data starts with 1984). Covers government transfer and service programs, pension coverage, housing affordability, home ownership data, housing cost data (primarily mortgages), financial assistance for education, among other topics. Dataset can also be accessed through ICPSR and through the National Bureau of Economic Research

Time-series metrics available for bulk download by State, MSA, County, City, and Zip Code

Includes foreclosure filings, foreclosure auctions, etc. for Chicago area

Inside Airbnb is a mission-driven activist project with the objective to provide data that quantifies the impact of short-term rentals on housing and residential communities. Recent data is available for immediate download and historic data can be requested.