Social Science Data and Statistics Resources

"AidData collects, curates, and publishes data on more than $5.5 trillion dollars in development finance from 90 bilateral and multilateral agencies at the project level. All of this information is available in our searchable database of more than one million development finance activities."

Provides Chinese statistical sources, including China-wide, provincial and city statistical yearbooks, census data, economic development indicators, demographic data, and some mapped data.Tisch subscribes to Geo-Explorer II, Statistics and the Census Data modules.

Provides many datasets on international relations topics, including international conflict, militarized international disputes, bilateral trade, and diplomatic exchanges.

Over 75 variables for more than 150 countries including ratings and data from the International Country Risk Guide and Coplin O'Leary PRS Forecast. Updated monthly with archives back to 1984. Note: CountryData offers spreadsheet data only. For PRS text and analysis, see International Country Risk Guide and Political Risk Services, both found in LexisNexis.

"EM-DAT provides an objective basis for vulnerability assessment and rational decision-making in disaster situations. For example, it helps policymakers identify disaster types that are most common in a given country and have had significant historical impacts on specific human populations.In addition to providing information on the human impact of disasters, such as the number of people killed, injured or affected, EM-DAT provides disaster-related economic damage estimates and disaster-specific international aid contributions."

"The Global Terrorism Database (GTD) is an open-source database including information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2014"

IndiaStat provides India-specific socio-economic statistical facts and figures culled from various secondary level authentic sources. Includes industry, labor, tourism, population, health, education, and general data. Choose "IP Login" for full access.

1750-2010 3-volume set is the latest edition of the most authoritative collection of statistics available. Updated to 2010 wherever possible, it provides key economic and social indicators for the last 260 years...

Survey datasets deposited by a number of international agencies such as the International Labour Organization, UNICEF, World Bank and more.

The entire catalog of IMF publications, including periodicals, books, occasional papers and statistics.

Compiled by Dr. Monty G. Marshall Director, Center for Systemic Peace. lists 331 episodes of armed conflict (including 32 ongoing cases) that comprise a comprehensive accounting of all forms of major armed conflicts in the world over the contemporary period: 1946-2013

International Institute for Strategic Studies. Annual reports with key metrics on global military capabilities and defense economics.

OECD iLibrary provides online access to Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) resources, covering trade, environment, agriculture, technololgy, economic development, and more. The books, reports, working papers and periodicals are full-text and the databases have extensive statistical information.

The Peace Accords Matrix Project tracks the implementation of 51 different types of provisions, including: Ceasefire, Decentralization/Federalism, Constitutional Reform, Military Reform, Media Reform, and Verification Mechanism. Dummy coded variables available as Excel file.

PWT is a database with information on relative levels of income, output, inputs and productivity, with country and period coverage depending on the release. A very good source for per capita GDP for many countries.

The Polity IV Project provides regime type data for most countries since 1800.

"The Iran Social Science Data Portal is an English- and Persian-language online portal that features social science data on Iran, including socioeconomic data, electoral data, information on political parties, and translations of selected laws and regulations. It aims to provide a service to journalists, academics, policymakers, and others interested in analyzing political and socioeconomic developments in contemporary Iran."

Surveys conducted by the RAND corporation.

"The Social Conflict Analysis Database (SCAD) includes protests, riots, strikes, inter-communal conflict, government violence against civilians, and other forms of social conflict not systematically tracked in other conflict datasets. SCAD currently includes information on social conflicts from 1990-2013, covering all of Africa and now also Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean."

The Statistical Yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean seeks to respond to the demands of users who require reliable and sound statistical information in order to analyse the economic, social and environmental situation of the region

An international, independent resource on global security. Databases include data on: Multilateral Peace Operations, Military Expenditures, Arms Transfers and Arms embargoes.

Funded by the Economic and Social Research Council. Large database with interface that lets you search by theme (labour market, housing, crime, health) and by country.

Database containing statistics and data aggregated by the UN from several international agencies.

The Uppsala Conflict Data Program (UCDP) has recorded ongoing violent conflicts since the 1970s. The data provided is one of the most accurate and well-used data-sources on global armed conflicts and its definition of armed conflict is becoming a standard in how conflicts are systematically defined and studied.

The World Bank provides free and open access to a comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe, together with other datasets cited in the data catalog. Widely used datasets and features:
Development Indicators
Global Development Finance
DataBank Tool (visualizations)

An online, open source mapping platform on which researchers can share data points. Substantial international data, although not curated.